topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Friday March 29, 2024, 6:47 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: SOLVED: Taking Screenshot (via PrtScn) & MS Paint  (Read 10995 times)

Nzyme

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
SOLVED: Taking Screenshot (via PrtScn) & MS Paint
« on: December 27, 2011, 08:32 AM »
I believe most users take screenshots by directly pressing the "PrtScn" button (entire screen) or "Alt + PrtScn" (for the active window). After this, they use the MS Paint program in this sequence:

1. Click on the "Start" logo or press the "Start" button on the keyboard (if available)
2. Type in Paint and click on "Paint" from the results or navigate to All Programs > Accessories > Paint
3. Open Paint and paste the image (Ctrl + V) or by the menu option.

I was wondering if it is possible to eliminate all the above 3 steps so that when the user presses either the "PrtScn" button or "Alt + PrtScn", MS Paint should open automatically with the copied image.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,286
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taking Screenshot (via PrtScn) & MS Paint
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2011, 08:55 AM »
If you're serious about taking screenshots, I'd recommend a dedicated screenshot tool like mouser's own Screenshot Captor.  However, to answer your original request, here's an AutoHotkey snippet that will do the job:

Code: Autohotkey [Select]
  1. $PrintScreen::
  2. $!PrintScreen::
  3. {
  4.     If ( A_ThisHotkey = "$PrintScreen" )
  5.     {
  6.         SendInput, {PrintScreen}
  7.     }
  8.     Else If ( A_ThisHotkey = "$!PrintScreen" )
  9.     {
  10.         SendInput, !{PrintScreen}
  11.     }
  12.     ClipWait, 5, 1
  13.     Run, mspaint.exe, , , myPID
  14.     WinWait, % "ahk_pid " . myPID
  15.     WinActivate, % "ahk_pid " . myPID
  16.     WinWaitActive, % "ahk_pid " . myPID
  17.     SendInput, ^v
  18. }
  19. Return

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taking Screenshot (via PrtScn) & MS Paint
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2011, 09:05 AM »
Note that you can ask Screenshot Captor to auto open new screen captures in MS Paint or any other program, assuming the built-in editing tools of the program are insufficient.

Shades

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,922
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taking Screenshot (via PrtScn) & MS Paint
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2011, 09:12 AM »
+1 with ScreenshotCaptor from Mouser. Besides that it does by default almost exactly what you ask by default, you can also set it up to name and store each screenshot without any further interaction at all.

Although MSPaint is not opened by default, a different but more functional editor is. This piece of software is really the "icing on the cake" and can stand against any commercially available solution that is available out there.  

kunkel321

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 597
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taking Screenshot (via PrtScn) & MS Paint
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2011, 03:02 PM »
Yepper doodle.  ScreenshotCaptor is what you need.

Nzyme

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taking Screenshot (via PrtScn) & MS Paint
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2011, 11:46 PM »
@skwire: Thanks for providing the script. I am totally new at this (AutoHotkey and stuff). I tried to run the script and got the attached error.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,286
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taking Screenshot (via PrtScn) & MS Paint
« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2011, 11:52 PM »
Do you have the entire code on one line or something?

Nzyme

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taking Screenshot (via PrtScn) & MS Paint
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2011, 09:15 AM »
It spans a few lines - 3 to 4 lines I think. (I have copied the code after clicking on "copy or print" link in the code box above and pasted it in Notepad) and then ran the script. Do I have it on the Notepad "just as" it appears in the code box above without the line numbers?

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,286
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taking Screenshot (via PrtScn) & MS Paint
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2011, 09:18 AM »
It needs to be in Notepad just like you see it in the above code box (19 lines).

pspin

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taking Screenshot (via PrtScn) & MS Paint
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2011, 10:51 PM »
I use Gadwin´s PrintScreen for this kind of matter. It is freeware, and you can put the saves directly into a chosen folder (it autosaves the files).
If you want to edit with MS-paint just make sure that it will become the standard utility when you double-click the saved picture.
http://www.gadwin.com/download/

I think that chosing a standard program for your saved files (starts with a right click over a jpg-file) would do the most of the work. I hope to have been of some support.

EDIT: I just saw mouser screenshot captor, it also is a really cool program. I am in for a try!
« Last Edit: December 29, 2011, 11:04 PM by pspin »

Nzyme

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taking Screenshot (via PrtScn) & MS Paint
« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2012, 11:08 AM »
I just happened to use "FastStone Capture" and I have to say "Awesome!!!". Very light program and does exactly what I wanted. :Thmbsup:

justabeginner

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
« Last Edit: March 05, 2012, 09:23 PM by justabeginner »