topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 11:37 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Looking at Cameras  (Read 19348 times)

tomos

• Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Looking at Cameras
« on: July 01, 2011, 04:23 AM »
Been looking at cameras, my old trusty 5MP Olympus C5060 died a death lately.

Thought I'd share :-) based on my notes:
PS I'm a total amateur so feel free to correct or advise ;)
All links are from http://www.imaging-resource.com

First, I wanted a small camera with a good lens -
  • reasonably sharp into the corners of image
  • preferably with low chromatic abberation (the colour fringes you often get, especially in high contrast areas towards edge of image)

I wanted to be able to photograph in low light, so either
  • a "fast" lens (i.e. with low aperature number, e.g. 2.0) or
  • a camera that makes good quality images at high iso

Of the compact cameras I only found the Olympus XZ-1 has a good sharp lens. I considered it, but it's around €400 and I saw that I could get a compact system camera from Sony for the same price. (Compact system cameras have larger sensors and exchangable lenses, but have no mirror in the camera so are a lot smaller than SLRs.)

The Sony NEX-3 seems to have the best image quality/ high iso performance of any non-SLR camera, matching some SLRs which have much bigger sensors. (There is a newer version, NEX-C3.) It's very small; lenses are not as small as some other makes. Problem is the kit-lens is not so good. Also there's not much choice in lenses till next year. I guess that's why it's selling so cheaply..