[...] OFF BY DEFAULT [...]
Isn't an option at all. As software should be setup the way that average people don't have to change anything.
So update checking is opt-out and never opt-in as it is quite useless otherwise. Or do it like VLC, and ask on "install" but I didn't want to annoy people, so just opt-out.
Further more, it connects to Github, so not even a privacy issue as one could argue if it were my own server... (ok, it is using http://rawgit.com/, not Github directly)
The update notification UI includes a checkmark to easily adjust the update checking (in case a new version is found and you're annoyed by the fact because you don't want to update or what ever....)
but it is really just this UI... not the "progression UI" which can only be seen by manually checking for updates.
So yes, currently you have to be online to disable it and it wouldn't even work on Win2k and maybe XP (because of SSL)
, but it doesn't really matter otherwise^^ Just fails to check for updates, but will never show a prompt.
test removed as I've forgot to mention it actually.. But I wanted to^^
And if you'd read my changelog, you would see that I've wrote this fact down... it's beta after all (well release candidate / pre-release)
Still don't know where to place the "proper" UI though...
Yet you can manually disable update checking by changing / adding a DWORD
called "UpdR" to "0"
in "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Stoic Joker's\T-Clock 2010
" or the T-Clock.ini
, section MainEdit
: fixed my post by "spoilering" the original but actually incorrect text...Addition
: well there's maybe one point you're right about... before anyone got the chance to disable update checking, it'll check for updates once... well I considered it to be not an issue because you've just downloaded it, so you're likely connected anyway (my care was mostly about people who are still not connected 24/7, so I don't want their internet to "dial up")
This is to make sure T-Clock can be / is allowed by the firewall installed (actually I could add myself to Windows' firewall, but wanted people to have control about it)
so it won't popup during the automatic update check and might screw you up (like poping out of a game or something)
This is why it checks for updates on first launch and also to make sure people use the most recent version and not some old version someone hosted on their site.
So the VLC way got some points... but I'm still not sure about it (beside the fact that I'll bloat T-Clock to add this message window and some people might disable it accidentally)