topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Sunday February 28, 2021, 3:49 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Capture Only Grabs Upper-Left Portion of Screen  (Read 675 times)

nkormanik

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 466
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Capture Only Grabs Upper-Left Portion of Screen
« on: February 12, 2021, 08:05 AM »
Tried as many different settings as I could think of in Preferences.

No matter what, only Upper-Left portion of screen gets captured.  Around 70% of the entire screen.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Nicholas Kormanik


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,480
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Capture Only Grabs Upper-Left Portion of Screen
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2021, 08:40 AM »
This happened to me recently --it was as if SC was being confused by the monitor dimensions.
What mode of capture are you performing that this happens?

kunkel321

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 543
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Capture Only Grabs Upper-Left Portion of Screen
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2021, 09:05 AM »
Is it possible that this is related to having multiple monitors, and one is set at 125% resolution?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,480
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Capture Only Grabs Upper-Left Portion of Screen
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2021, 09:52 AM »
For sure it is related to this problem.
There seem to be two interacting issues/solutions.. So I have a beta that fixes one half of the problem, but then causes another half of a problem to return.
The two problems seem to be related to the program tricking itself about monitor resolutions.  So in the first problem, its not capturing the entire monitor sometimes; and in the second problem its zooming the screen when you do a region capture.

I think I can work on a fix this week and hope to solve this once and for all.

But I'd like to make sure I understand nkormanik's problem -- whether its happening on a normal window or workspace capture, or a selected region drag+capture operation.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,480
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Capture Only Grabs Upper-Left Portion of Screen
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2021, 02:24 PM »
Can you try this beta:
Download beta version (4.41.0 BETA) from here (or portable).
« Last Edit: February 15, 2021, 09:26 PM by mouser »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,480
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Capture Only Grabs Upper-Left Portion of Screen
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2021, 07:31 PM »
Anyone with problems having the screen zoom in when you do a selected-region capture or similar bugs care to try this beta?

nkormanik

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 466
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Capture Only Grabs Upper-Left Portion of Screen
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2021, 02:38 AM »
I'm presently using only one monitor with my main computer.  UHD.  Windows increases zoom to 125%.  Always capture whole monitor.  (Easier to edit down the capture as wanted with another edit program.)

Interestingly another of mouser's programs "Automatic Screenshotter" works perfectly.  Terrific program.  Takes a pic of entire monitor every so many minutes (seconds, etc.).  Captures are named according to YOUR preferences.  (As with Screenshot Captor.)  That alone is a huge advantage over those capture programs that don't let YOU choose the filenames.


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,480
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Capture Only Grabs Upper-Left Portion of Screen
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2021, 11:58 AM »
I don't quite understand.  Are you saying the new beta of Screenshot Captor still has a problem? Can you explain the problem more?

kunkel321

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 543
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Capture Only Grabs Upper-Left Portion of Screen
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2021, 01:49 PM »
I tried the above beta (portable one) on my two monitor setup.  The screens are different sizes, so I tried it with the tops lined up, then the bottoms lined up.  Also tried it with one (then the other) at 125%.  Used "region capture" each time.     I was capturing both monitors each time.   It worked without any problems.  A+

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,480
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Capture Only Grabs Upper-Left Portion of Screen
« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2021, 05:19 PM »
 :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: