topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Monday September 21, 2020, 10:42 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Cannot capture browser windows  (Read 245 times)

JamesO

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2020
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Cannot capture browser windows
« on: September 16, 2020, 02:20 PM »
Every time I try to capture a browser window, (the sole reason I bought this program,) the program takes control of the browser and attempts to open a location at www_getwindoinfo, obscuring the page I intended to capture.
Screenshot - 9_16_2020 , 3_13_51 PM.pngCannot capture browser windows

Windows 10 Pro Version 2004 OS Build 19041.508
Firefox 80.0.1 (64 Bit)

This is disappointing.
Jim

Stephen66515

  • Animated Giffer in Chief
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 3,645
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cannot capture browser windows
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2020, 06:20 PM »
Could you explain a little about what method you are attempting to use to capture the window? I have just tried it using the latest SSC, Firefox and Windows build (using every capture method I could think of) and cannot replicate this behaviour.

The image below was captured using "Capture windows object or scrolling window" then CTRL+Left Click on the window I wanted.

+Screenshot - 18_09_2020 , 00_17_12.pngCannot capture browser windows

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,470
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cannot capture browser windows
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2020, 02:32 AM »
I expect the OP's computer is either virus-infected or the browser is hijacked, so it opens that site on specific keypresses.

KodeZwerg

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • Posts: 488
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cannot capture browser windows
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2020, 02:43 AM »
GetWindowInfo() is a Windows Api method.
Maby under some strange circumstances does SSC send out that method name, and Browser does interprete it as "www .methodname .com" ?
sorry bad english and Delphi are my hobby ;)
politeness is not one of my strengths in writing, just because it sounds rough doesn't mean that I mean it rough.

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,470
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cannot capture browser windows
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2020, 04:13 AM »
Well, then I'd expect all ScreenshotCaptor/Firefox users would experience that, I guess (and I've been using them together since 'the beginning of time' (or about that long, since 2006 at least)) and never saw that happening.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 11,705
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cannot capture browser windows
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2020, 02:59 PM »
Every time I try to capture a browser window, (the sole reason I bought this program,) the program takes control of the browser and attempts to open a location at www_getwindoinfo, obscuring the page I intended to capture.
1. what method sre you using to capture
(2. does this happen with all methods?)

EDIT// I see Stephen asked already, no harm to ask twice though...
Tom

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 11,705
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cannot capture browser windows
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2020, 03:12 AM »
This the second reporting of this problem:

When trying to do anything with SSC with v4.36.1, it opens another tab looking for www.getwindowinfo.com which is a totally blank webpage. The version before this, it would always enlarge the webpage, making it useless to try to capture anything on the right side of the webpage because it would now be off screen. No problem with Chrome.
Tom

Stephen66515

  • Animated Giffer in Chief
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 3,645
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cannot capture browser windows
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2020, 09:28 AM »
I did some more testing today with a slightly older build of SSC and still cannot replicate this at all.

OP: Any info you can give us would be greatly appreciated :)