topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 4:45 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: HTML editor for beginners  (Read 11606 times)

tomos

• Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
HTML editor for beginners
« on: April 08, 2015, 04:44 AM »
[edit] just to be clear: I'm *not* looking for WYSIWYG 'editors' (see TaoPhoenix's post below for why) [/edit]
Any tips will be gratefully received!

• (1) as a beginner, I want to be easily able to find everything.
  • (2) using a non-standard keyboard (qwertz) I would like customisable shortcuts (bonus for exportable list of same)
  • (3) would love to be able to compare files side by side (e.g. my version and someone elses - but this may be another category of software?)

My experience so far:

Web Architect:
50 euro/ free version (some limitations I think)

It is very beginner friendly:
  • everything is easily accessible via ribbon UI

I didnt find it very user friendly:
  • it is mouse intensive, and keyboard unfriendly (no shortcuts for very basic things)
  • no customisable shortcuts that I could find, at any rate

NetBeans IDE:
recommended by gizmo - all I can say is: as a beginner, dont go there :D

HTML-Kit / HTML-Kit Tools:
free / paid version ($39 upwards)

• Free version had nice wizards to help when creating new files
  • Paid version is newer version of same with ribbon interface but with lots of keyboard shortcuts :up:
    wizards didnt work out-of-the-box

I preferred the free version interface.
Not sure why I gave up on this one, I think I simply preferred the next one...

WeBuilder:
($50/$80 home/commercial)

• everything easy to find so far