topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Friday May 20, 2022, 5:07 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: FARR not showing up when monitors were disconnected  (Read 1780 times)

SaschaM

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
FARR not showing up when monitors were disconnected
« on: July 23, 2021, 03:25 AM »
I am using the most recent version of FARR and so far have only one thing to complain about:

my laptop is connected to two external displays, totalling in 3 used displays. When I disconnect the screens so that only the laptop display remains, FARR will no longer show up. The display settings of Windows 10 show that it properly disconnected the devices, there is only the remaining internal screen being shown. You can see that something is happening when using the FARR toggle key combination as the focus moves away from the currently active application when first toggling FARR and is being returned on the second toggling.
Problem also persists when I restart FARR. I have not tried if the error goes away if I restart Windows with no screens attached but that wouldn't be a working workaround as I don't want to restart my PC just to re-enable FARR.

Thanks a lot for any pointers :)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,768
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR not showing up when monitors were disconnected
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2021, 05:28 AM »
There is an option in FARR to have it always pop up on the active monitor:
Screenshot - 7_23_2021 , 5_25_51 AM.png

However I have a faint memory that it was buggy in the last official version and that I fixed the bug in the latest beta here:
https://www.donation...ex.php?topic=10505.0

If you think that option might help you try installing that beta version and let me know if it works for you.

-jesse

Filipe Meira Castro

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR not showing up when monitors were disconnected
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2021, 06:55 AM »
Can you make to center only if it is completely outside of visible area? Basically I like it to be visible on the last place I moved it unless it's really not even visible because it's on a non existing screen!

SaschaM

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR not showing up when monitors were disconnected
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2021, 07:36 AM »
Hi jesse,

thanks a lot for the wonderful software, it's a total time saver *thumbsup*.

I'll untick the box and will see if that changes anything. If not I will try the latest beta.

Have a great weekend!

Best, Sascha

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,768
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR not showing up when monitors were disconnected
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2021, 08:11 AM »
Can you make to center only if it is completely outside of visible area? Basically I like it to be visible on the last place I moved it unless it's really not even visible because it's on a non existing screen!

I *THINK* the latest beta does that if you have that box unchecked.

Filipe Meira Castro

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR not showing up when monitors were disconnected
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2021, 09:02 AM »
Perfect, thanks, I will update to the beta then! :)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,768
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR not showing up when monitors were disconnected
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2021, 09:20 AM »
Let me know if it doesn't work.

Ishmaeel

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2015
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR not showing up when monitors were disconnected
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2021, 12:24 PM »
I had the same issue, and the beta resolved it for me, thankies.

kunkel321

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 586
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR not showing up when monitors were disconnected
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2022, 09:51 AM »
I also just experienced this at home on my laptop.  FARR had apparently been positioned on the second monitor when last used.  I was not able to get it to work until I got to my office and plugged in the second monitor.  I do have the "when appearing, center" option checked. 

Is v2.239.03 the newest?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,768
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR not showing up when monitors were disconnected
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2022, 04:04 PM »
I think I did fix this in the beta: (2.250)
https://www.donation...ex.php?topic=10505.0

kunkel321

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 586
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR not showing up when monitors were disconnected
« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2022, 04:45 PM »
Ah yes -- Very nice.  Thanks Mouser!