topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday April 18, 2024, 7:33 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Volume² - use the mouse wheel to change volume (Volume2)  (Read 3424 times)

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,260
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Volume² - use the mouse wheel to change volume (Volume2)
« on: February 13, 2021, 04:58 AM »
I just saw that there is no thread about this little tool that I don't want to live without anymore! :D :-*

I love to be able to change screen (f.lux) brightness with the mouse wheel thanks to AutoHotkey, and Volume2 allows me to easily change the system volume with the mouse wheel (in user-defined areas along the screen's edge).

Volume2 has TONS of options, you can choose from many different tray icon options, there's a customizable OSD, Volume2 can reduce the volume to zero when you lock Windows, etc. etc.

Screenshot (slightly older version):
Volume2_3.pngVolume² - use the mouse wheel to change volume (Volume2)

https://irzyxa.blogs...com/p/downloads.html
https://github.com/irzyxa/Volume2
« Last Edit: February 13, 2021, 05:34 AM by brotherS »

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,286
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Volume² - use the mouse wheel to change volume (Volume2)
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2021, 07:48 PM »
I've used this utility for many many years.   :Thmbsup:

kunkel321

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 597
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Volume² - use the mouse wheel to change volume (Volume2)
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2021, 01:05 PM »
If there are any AutoHotkey users out there, this snippet will remap the two little side buttons on some mouses.

Code: Autohotkey [Select]
  1. XButton1:: Send {Volume_Down}
  2. return
  3. XButton2:: Send {Volume_Up}
  4. return

Actually, as I look at it though... I think the 'return' lines might be redundant(?)  IDK

EDIT:  I just changed it in my master script, and the returns are apparently not needed. 

Code: Autohotkey [Select]
  1. XButton1:: Send {Volume_Down}
  2. XButton2:: Send {Volume_Up}

Live and learn   :D
« Last Edit: February 21, 2021, 01:17 PM by kunkel321 »

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,286
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Volume² - use the mouse wheel to change volume (Volume2)
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2021, 01:40 PM »
the returns are apparently not needed.

Returns are not necessary if it's a single line of code which completes the command.

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,260
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Volume² - use the mouse wheel to change volume (Volume2)
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2021, 04:05 AM »
If there are any AutoHotkey users out there, this snippet will remap the two little side buttons on some mouses.

Code: Autohotkey [Select]
  1. XButton1:: Send {Volume_Down}
  2. return
  3. XButton2:: Send {Volume_Up}
  4. return
Nooooo, those are great for browsing and to navigate in Windows Explorer and other programs.  :Thmbsup: