topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Monday March 18, 2024, 9:47 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: DONE: Icon in system tray to show when there in no internet connection  (Read 33301 times)

shmuel1

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Skype used to have a system tray icon that changed when there is no internet access. In the new Skype there is no skype icon in the system tray, so I can't easily tell when the internet is down.

I'd like a quick way to tell when the internet is down. I don't want a network speed indicator, just an icon that appears one way when there is internet access an another way when there is no internet access. I assume this utility would have to ping some location let's say every 15 seconds.

For extra credit you could be able to configure how often it pings and where it pings.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
I seem to remember someone already coding such a tool here... Just have to see if someone remembers?

shmuel1

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I searched the site a bit and I can't find it.

Does anyone know of a utility that shows a different icon on the taskbar when there is no internet connection?

anandcoral

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 777
    • View Profile
    • Free Portable Apps
    • Donate to Member
I use "PingInfoView" http://www.nirsoft.n...tiple_ping_tool.html, though not in tray, it shows red icon when no connection.

Regards,

Anand

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,566
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Windows 10:
Settings > Taskbar > Select which icons appear on the taskbar > Network > On  Network.jpg no2017-05-29_141617.jpg


--------------------

http://www.digitalcitizen.life/how-set-which-icons-are-shown-windows-10s-notification-area
« Last Edit: May 29, 2017, 05:26 PM by Curt, Reason: link digitalcitizen »

gmoises

  • Member
  • Joined in 2017
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
AutoHotKey code:

Code: Autohotkey [Select]
  1. SetWorkingDir %A_ScriptDir%
  2.  
  3. Thread, interrupt, 0
  4. SetTimer, Reloj, 60000
  5.  
  6. Reloj:
  7.         If ConnectedToInternet()
  8.         {
  9.                 Menu, Tray, Icon, IEframe.dll, 40
  10.                 Menu, tray, tip, Connected
  11.         }
  12.         Else
  13.         {
  14.                 Menu, Tray, Icon, IEframe.dll, 41
  15.                 Menu, tray, tip, Disconnected
  16.         }
  17. Return
  18.  
  19. ConnectedToInternet(flag=0x40) {
  20.    Return DllCall("Wininet.dll\InternetGetConnectedState", "Str", flag,"Int",0)
  21. }
« Last Edit: May 30, 2017, 12:55 AM by Deozaan, Reason: used code blocks for easier code readability »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Thanks for sharing that, gmoises  :up:

anandcoral

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 777
    • View Profile
    • Free Portable Apps
    • Donate to Member
Thanks for sharing that, gmoises  :up:
+1

Regards,

Anand

shmuel1

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Doesn't the standard network icon just show if the network adapter is working?
If the problem is further down the line, like if the company's router is down or if my ISP is having problems, I don't think it shows anything different.

Settings > Taskbar > Select which icons appear on the taskbar > Network > On  [ Invalid Attachment ] [ Invalid Attachment ]
http://www.digitalcitizen.life/how-set-which-icons-are-shown-windows-10s-notification-area

shmuel1

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Someone recommended FreePing, which is a light utility that will pop up when there is no connection to a specified site.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,286
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
@shmuel1: Did you try gmoises' AutoHotkey code?

shmuel1

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I'm not into AutoHotKey. I am only into AutoIt.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,286
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I'll write you a user-friendly version.  Stay tuned.

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11,186
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I autoit syntax that different than AutoHotKey that it couldn't be adapted?

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,286
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I autoit syntax that different than AutoHotKey that it couldn't be adapted?

It's not that so much as the InternetGetConnectedState DLL call doesn't work if the problem is upstream of the person's computer.  I'm going to write a version that allows the user to ping an IP of their choosing as well as the check frequency.  The user will also be able to provide their own icons (if so desired).

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,610
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I'm not into AutoHotKey. I am only into AutoIt.
But what is there that is stopping you of installing AHK? I'm not an AutoHotKey user myself, but more into AutoIt, but that won't stop me from using AHK tools when useful :-\

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,286
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Apologies that this took so long.  Here's a screenshot:

2017-06-15_171603.pngDONE: Icon in system tray to show when there in no internet connection

Download here: http://skwire.dcmembers.com/apps/tray_host_checker/TrayHostChecker.zip

It's fully configurable -- hostname, interval, icons, etc.  Please let me know if this is what you had in mind.

shmuel1

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
That's perfect. Thanks.
Did you make that utility?

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,286
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
That's perfect. Thanks.
Did you make that utility?

Yes, I wrote it for you.

shmuel1

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Thanks. It's really nice.
I preferred larger icons, so I made the attached icons.

shmuel1

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Can you add an option to keep the ping and error counters even when the program is closed, and a reset counters button?

I attached another set of icons. A bit smaller than the previous ones I sent. Feel free to distribute them as alternative icons, if you want.

techidave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,044
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I have not tried this app which looks really useful to me.  I need to try it on a problematic pc that I have.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,286
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
@shmuel1:  Thank you for the icons.  I'm glad the application is working for you.   ;)
@techidave: If you do try it out, let us know how you get on with it.   :Thmbsup:

shmuel1

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I've been using it even since you made it. It works great.

anandcoral

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 777
    • View Profile
    • Free Portable Apps
    • Donate to Member
This may also be useful to you, as it gives off a sound on no internet.

https://www.ghacks.n...-is-ping-with-sound/

play a sound if there is no response, simply add the -d parameter to the command

Regards,

Anand