topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 3:13 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: SOLVED: Quick toggle some monitors  (Read 5730 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
SOLVED: Quick toggle some monitors
« on: June 17, 2020, 08:11 AM »
I have a 4-monitor pc setup.  Occasionally when I watch a full screen movie or play a game, I'd like to turn off all but one of my monitors.
I'd love a little system tray utility with a hotkey (and right-click menu?) that could toggle a configurable set of my monitors on and off.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2020, 03:29 PM by mouser »

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11,186
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SOLVED: Quick toggle some monitors
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2020, 09:16 AM »
You mean hardware toggle?  Or just blank out.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,286
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SOLVED: Quick toggle some monitors
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2020, 09:54 AM »
This is actually pretty tricky programmatically.  I'd recommend using Nir Sofer's MultiMonitorTool program.  It's a GUI program, but fully commandline controllable.  You could easily create a toggle shortcut like this:

c:\path\to\MultiMonitorTool.exe /SwitchOffOn 2 3 4

Of course, run the tool first to get the proper monitor numbers.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2020, 10:41 AM by skwire »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: SOLVED: Quick toggle some monitors
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2020, 01:01 PM »
Thanks skwire, looks like MuliMonitorTool will do exactly what I want  :up:
I will report.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,286
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SOLVED: Quick toggle some monitors
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2020, 02:36 PM »
Thanks skwire, looks like MuliMonitorTool will do exactly what I want  :up:
I will report.

Right on.  I'm sure you'll find out soon enough but, to work properly, the monitors would have to be DDC/CI capable.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: SOLVED: Quick toggle some monitors
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2020, 03:29 PM »
Got it working.   :up:
Problem solved.

The GUI was useful as the monitor #s were not what one would expect.
The SwitchOnOff commandline option worked imperfectly to toggle the monitors (one monitor was not toggling back on properly), so I used 2 hotkeys in AHK, one to turn the monitors off, and another to turn them back on.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,286
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SOLVED: Quick toggle some monitors
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2020, 03:41 PM »
Got it working.   :up:
Problem solved.

The GUI was useful as the monitor #s were not what one would expect.
The SwitchOnOff commandline option worked imperfectly to toggle the monitors (one monitor was not toggling back on properly), so I used 2 hotkeys in AHK, one to turn the monitors off, and another to turn them back on.

Right on.  I'll move this thread.