topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Sunday May 24, 2020, 9:50 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Importing from old version  (Read 1289 times)

HankFriedman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 145
  • A computer nerd whose also a psychic & astrologer
    • View Profile
    • Welcome to Hank Friedman's Website
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Importing from old version
« on: March 25, 2020, 12:18 AM »
I hope that I haven't missed the discussion of this theme before but I just installed the new Alpha and tried to import the database from the previous version of CHS, and it didn't work.

I have a lot of favorites, etc. and at the same time I understand that the database format has changed greatly.

Do you think it's possible to have an import for users of the earlier version?

Thanks!

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10,446
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Importing from old version
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2020, 08:43 AM »
What kind of error did you get?  That might help mouser when he sees this.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,213
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Importing from old version
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2020, 10:01 AM »
The new version will happy upgrade data files from the old version if it finds them in its database directory.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,747
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Importing from old version
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2020, 07:05 PM »
The new version will happy upgrade data files from the old version if it finds them in its database directory.
Do you mean that one can simply copy the database folder, from the original existing version, into the Alpha directory structure?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,213
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Importing from old version
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2020, 07:22 PM »
yes.