topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Wednesday October 28, 2020, 1:06 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Need help: CHS database is broken.  (Read 1060 times)

chashnniel

  • Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Need help: CHS database is broken.
« on: March 17, 2020, 02:53 AM »
I use CHS portable version. Today I download CHS from here, and I overwrite it to the latest version 2.46.01

I launch the new version 2.49. Everything is fine at first, then it shows me pop-up errors. All of the clips are gone and all the right click menu is broken(555.jpg)... I can't open "Option and Preference" page, so I can't even export my database.
I also tried to go back to the previous version(re-overwrite it with 2.46.01), but it also shows me the same errors.

What should I do to get my database/clips back??
« Last Edit: March 17, 2020, 02:59 AM by chashnniel »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,384
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Need help: CHS database is broken.
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2020, 04:29 AM »
I'm sorry this happened -- I don't know why it has, the new version should be able to run on the old database fine, but with all the recent changes I may have broken something.  Probably an easy fix.

BUT

First thing first, exist CHS (terminate if need be), and then go find your CHS Database directory, and zip it up so you have a backup of it.
Then do the same with your CHS Backups directory.
These should both be under your documents/DonationCoder/ClipboardHelpAndSpell directories.

CHS is pretty good about making backups so you should see recent backups in those directories.  You need to make a zip/copy of these backups so that they are preserved safely.

Once you have that backed up I'll help figure out whats going on.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2020, 04:35 AM by mouser »

chashnniel

  • Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Need help: CHS database is broken.
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2020, 04:59 AM »
thx for the quick reply.

I have zipped and backup these two folders

DO YOU Mean...
Redownload and unzip CHS to any new folder then unzip database and backup to the CHS folder???
---add: I tried this but I doesn't work and shows me the same errors.


PS: I'm using Portable version.

I have a Google Drive backup. ;D so if you don't wanna look into this bug, you can forget about it since I can use the backup version. If you wanna figure it out, just tell me what to do next...
« Last Edit: March 17, 2020, 05:36 AM by chashnniel »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,384
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Need help: CHS database is broken.
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2020, 05:26 AM »
I was just saying I wanted you to make copies of the CHS backups so that you had those safe with no chance of overwriting them, before trying to fix the problem.

chashnniel

  • Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Need help: CHS database is broken.
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2020, 05:29 AM »
OK, I have made a copy of CHS backup. what's next??

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,384
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Need help: CHS database is broken.
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2020, 05:43 AM »
Next would be, look in the Backups directory, see when your most recent backup is from, and confirm its recent.
Then, assuming so, you could delete the files in your Database directory (after you have backed it up just in case!)
Note that the Files/ subdirectory is image files captured, so you probably don't want to delete that.

(and some of the files in the Database directory are themselves alternate backup files, but let's ignore that for now).

After you delete the files in that Database directory (ClipTable.* and GroupTable.*) try restarting CHS and letting it start with a blank database.
Then go to the options and the maintenance tab and try to restore a recent backup in your Backups directory.

Meanwhile I will test the latest version here on my old database to see if I broke the upgrade process recently.


chashnniel

  • Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Need help: CHS database is broken.
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2020, 06:02 AM »
thx, everything is fine now. :up:

Easy fix, I guess that's because IDK much about CHS...

BTW, if you have plan on adding localization to CHS, I can do some help.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,384
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Need help: CHS database is broken.
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2020, 06:13 AM »
I just wish I knew what happened that caused the corruption in the first place.. I tried using the new version with my old database and it didn't have any trouble, so it's a bit of a mystery why the problem happened in your case.

chashnniel

  • Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Need help: CHS database is broken.
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2020, 06:36 AM »
I replaced 2.46 with 2.49, then I launch 2.49 wothout errors.
After about several hours, I received the error message. I didn't close or restart CHS in the meanwhile.

And I didn't change any settings or move/delete any clips. the only thing I can remember is that I checked "Main Window - tools - launch clipboard multi-format blob...."

OK, maybe this can help...(I just figure it out :huh:)

Go to "Main Window - tools - launch clipboard multi-format blob...."
Under "Clipboard" -- click any entry -- then switch to "Database"
You will get the error in pic blow.


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,384
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Need help: CHS database is broken.
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2020, 06:41 AM »
I am having a hard time reproducing the error but I feel you must be on to something... I hope you will keep hunting and see if there is some other additional piece to the puzzle!