topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Sunday May 19, 2024, 4:04 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)  (Read 84472 times)

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 872
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #75 on: February 03, 2020, 09:12 AM »
Custom Remote Administration Panel v2.0.0 build 20 has been released.

Please check first post for download link.  New version has everything CRAP v2.0.0 build 1 public beta had along with a few additions/fixes.

Additions:

1. <sysroot> for image files to help with icon exe/dll/cpl paths from the system directory.
2. Right click menu for image file with the "..." button to quickly choose a system icon file to choose an icon from.
3. A toggle checkerboard background in the exe/dll/cpl icon picker dialog to help tell icons that could be hidden because of same solid color of the background color of the icon list. (e.g shell32.dll icon 310, 311, 317, and 318 are a few I noticed.)
« Last Edit: February 03, 2020, 09:18 AM by hamradio »

oblivion

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 494
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #76 on: February 10, 2020, 11:39 AM »
Can't think how I never noticed this before.

I've been after something that can do exactly what this does for ages. Specifically, since I noticed that I couldn't find a way to make runas work in other tools I use.

My first impression was slight confusion -- I think you have to have read the initial request and at least some of that background, and I found some of the screenshots helpful and illuminating too. Probably fullblown documentation is unnecessary but maybe a couple of lines of text with a brief description of what each of the fields is typically going to be used for, and a couple of complete examples maybe:

For instance, if I want a button that runs Active Directory Users and Computers as a user with admin privileges from an account without them, you might have:

Image file: <sysroot>System32\mmc.exe;0

Command prefix: runas /user:domain\superuser "<sysroot>System32\mmc.exe dsa.msc"

Button caption: something like "AD Users"

and Button tooltip: "Active Directory Users and Computers"

and "Ignore variable text" checked as this one's probably gonna have to be run locally

along with a little bit of explanation that, at least for its intended purpose, the variable's going to be the remote machine you're aiming the command at rather than anything else, everything would have fallen into place fairly quickly.

If I had a suggestion for a possible improvement: a checkbox that will assume the use of runas and a little bit of program allowing a username and password to be stored and easily amended with a view to adding them to the runas command in the appropriate place without displaying it in cleartext, that'd be rather lovely. :)

But in general: wonderful! Thanks!   :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup:
-- bests, Tim

...this space unintentionally left blank.

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 872
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #77 on: February 10, 2020, 12:37 PM »
Can't think how I never noticed this before.

I've been after something that can do exactly what this does for ages. Specifically, since I noticed that I couldn't find a way to make runas work in other tools I use.

My first impression was slight confusion -- I think you have to have read the initial request and at least some of that background, and I found some of the screenshots helpful and illuminating too. Probably fullblown documentation is unnecessary but maybe a couple of lines of text with a brief description of what each of the fields is typically going to be used for, and a couple of complete examples maybe:

For instance, if I want a button that runs Active Directory Users and Computers as a user with admin privileges from an account without them, you might have:

Image file: <sysroot>System32\mmc.exe;0

Command prefix: runas /user:domain\superuser "<sysroot>System32\mmc.exe dsa.msc"

Button caption: something like "AD Users"

and Button tooltip: "Active Directory Users and Computers"

and "Ignore variable text" checked as this one's probably gonna have to be run locally

along with a little bit of explanation that, at least for its intended purpose, the variable's going to be the remote machine you're aiming the command at rather than anything else, everything would have fallen into place fairly quickly.

If I had a suggestion for a possible improvement: a checkbox that will assume the use of runas and a little bit of program allowing a username and password to be stored and easily amended with a view to adding them to the runas command in the appropriate place without displaying it in cleartext, that'd be rather lovely. :)

But in general: wonderful! Thanks!   :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup:


You're welcome!

Yeah I know still got to get to the documentation at some point since I have added more stuff over what it use to be.

Will think on the suggestion as well.

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 872
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Version 2.0.6 build 1 of Customizable Remote Administration Panel has been released.

New Features

  • A first run welcome dialog asking for a new layout file name.
  • A layout not found dialog upon run with option to create a new layout file name or skip to select one from the layout management menu if one already exists in the layout folder.
  • Favorite system which should be seamless transfer to the new system keeping your favorites intact, but allows for them to have a title for the combo box instead of just the variable text.
  • Favorites xml file is now part of the simple backup system.
  • Delete from the layout management menu with a certain key+click combo on the layout item of a non opened layout.
  • Now includes a help file. Thanks goes out to Tim Parsons for the writing of it in which allowed me to easily create the CHM version.

Fixed Bugs/Optimizations/Changes

  • A bug with some layout button editor buttons being enabled when they should not have been has been fixed.
  • Optimized the history of variables to where the last used history entry should now be moved to the top of the history list.
  • Reworked the right click/shift+enter/down arrow key of the browse button "..." of the image file in add/edit dialog.
  • Other minor optimizations/improvements.

See first post for the download link.

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
These are some nice improvements. Thanks!  :Thmbsup:

However, I don't quite understand this:
  • Delete from the layout management menu with a certain key+click combo on the layout item of a non opened layout.
Can you elaborate?

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 872
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
These are some nice improvements. Thanks!  :Thmbsup:

However, I don't quite understand this:
  • Delete from the layout management menu with a certain key+click combo on the layout item of a non opened layout.
Can you elaborate?
-ConstanceJill (June 24, 2020, 11:11 AM)

It is possible to delete from the layout management menu (as in deleting the file from hard drive and then removing from the menu) other non opened layouts with Ctrl+Left Click.

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
OK !

BTW I just noticed this: I usually keep my CRAP window at the bottom right corner of my desktop, right above the taskbar. When it's there, if I mouse over the Layout Management button, the tooltip keeps flashing. Same if I mouse over the name of my current (and only) layout.
Doesn't happen if I move the window a little away from the desktop's corner.

Running Windows 10 x64 v1909, I don't have access to another OS to test it on right now.

oblivion

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 494
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
(Flashing tooltip)

Running Windows 10 x64 v1909, I don't have access to another OS to test it on right now.
-ConstanceJill (June 25, 2020, 05:45 AM)
Confirmed for Windows 10 x64 v1809 too, but doesn't happen on my Windows 7 laptop.
-- bests, Tim

...this space unintentionally left blank.

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 872
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
(Flashing tooltip)

Running Windows 10 x64 v1909, I don't have access to another OS to test it on right now.
-ConstanceJill (June 25, 2020, 05:45 AM)
Confirmed for Windows 10 x64 v1809 too, but doesn't happen on my Windows 7 laptop.

I do not think I can do anything for that as I just tell it what tooltip to show and it does it. It appears to be forcing the tooltip to display not over the taskbar/system tray as well as not allowing the tooltip to go off the edge of the screen, so that is a perfect storm you could say for the following.

The thing is when the tooltip appears and the mouse is then over the tooltip, then it thinks you are no longer over the control therefore it disappears making the mouse over the control again and that is how you get that loop. I will look into it more to make sure though.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2020, 11:12 AM by hamradio »

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #84 on: March 23, 2024, 03:19 PM »
Hey there,

A few months ago I've acquired a new computer, that runs Windows 11, where it does not seem possible to create custom toolbars any more.
And so lately I've been thinking, instead of putting the shortcuts to my games on the desktop, why not use CRAP as a launcher? :D

In the process of recreating my game shortcuts into CRAP, I got the following idea: it would be neat if I could just drag and drop an icon onto the current layout, or maybe to the layout editor window, and that would basically parse that shortcut and create an equivalent button (using the icon, command prefix and its name as a caption).
Would that be feasible? :)

Another possible improvement I've been thinking of: from the "Add new button" dialog, if there is no defined "Command Prefix" yet, and the user just loaded the icon from an .exe file, perhaps we could have the program populate the prefix with that same exe file's path?

Oh and, I suppose it's some kind of bug: when browsing to an executable to get its icon, CRAP fails to recognize that an .EXE file was selected unless its extension is entirely in lower case (so it will work only with ".exe", but not ".EXE" or a mix of upper and lower case).

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,613
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #85 on: March 23, 2024, 04:45 PM »
that runs Windows 11, where it does not seem possible to create custom toolbars any more.
-ConstanceJill (March 23, 2024, 03:19 PM)
That major mishap of MS (one of many in Windows 11, for some reason they want to make Windows 11 look like Mac OS :mad:) can be circumvented by installing ExplorerPatcher, that will make Windows 11 usable (bearable?) for power (actually: any) users.

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #86 on: March 24, 2024, 06:12 AM »
I've had a night's sleep since my previous post and it seems like most of what I've been suggesting in there would probably be an overcomplicated solution when I can just regroup my game shortcuts into a single folder… feel free to disregard that then.

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 872
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #87 on: March 28, 2024, 06:06 PM »
Hey there,

A few months ago I've acquired a new computer, that runs Windows 11, where it does not seem possible to create custom toolbars any more.
And so lately I've been thinking, instead of putting the shortcuts to my games on the desktop, why not use CRAP as a launcher? :D

In the process of recreating my game shortcuts into CRAP, I got the following idea: it would be neat if I could just drag and drop an icon onto the current layout, or maybe to the layout editor window, and that would basically parse that shortcut and create an equivalent button (using the icon, command prefix and its name as a caption).
Would that be feasible? :)

Another possible improvement I've been thinking of: from the "Add new button" dialog, if there is no defined "Command Prefix" yet, and the user just loaded the icon from an .exe file, perhaps we could have the program populate the prefix with that same exe file's path?

Oh and, I suppose it's some kind of bug: when browsing to an executable to get its icon, CRAP fails to recognize that an .EXE file was selected unless its extension is entirely in lower case (so it will work only with ".exe", but not ".EXE" or a mix of upper and lower case).
-ConstanceJill (March 23, 2024, 03:19 PM)

I'm on windows 11 too as of early December anyways let me see what I can do as time permits on the ideas. As for the bug I will look into it as well.

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 872
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #88 on: March 28, 2024, 07:13 PM »
Also another question ConstanceJill...would it be okay if I upgrade the .net version it needs?

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #89 on: March 28, 2024, 08:28 PM »
Hi, I suppose it depends on how much you'd upgrade it :D

As long as it's 4.8.1 or lower then it wouldn't be an issue for my workplace, but if I need to install a more recent one, then I'm not completely sure.

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 872
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #90 on: March 28, 2024, 09:31 PM »
Hi, I suppose it depends on how much you'd upgrade it :D

As long as it's 4.8.1 or lower then it wouldn't be an issue for my workplace, but if I need to install a more recent one, then I'm not completely sure.
-ConstanceJill (March 28, 2024, 08:28 PM)

I was thinking 4.8 since that is what suggested when I opened it for the first time on this Win11 computer.

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 872
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #91 on: March 29, 2024, 05:45 PM »
A small update of development information...

So I went ahead and let it switch over to 4.8 and the bug is fixed on my copy atm I think along with the one feature added in. I did notice on my win11 machine though it appears the command line is staying open after launching an executable even with the parameter that is suppose to close it. I may have to look into that portion so the command prompt doesn't stay open for just launching programs normally (if you consider it a hassle to have to close it after it launches the executable only). Also I still need to look further into the other shortcut idea you had.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2024, 06:04 PM by hamradio »

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #92 on: March 30, 2024, 02:23 AM »
Yes I've mentioned this thing about the command line window staying open when launching a GUI driven program in message #34, it pretty much always happened for me (or at least since then), no matter which OS I used the program on.
As a workaround I've been using the "start" command to launch any GUI mode program from CRAP.

I think there must be some other way (maybe an API or something?) that you can use which doesn't rely on CMD at all. It still should be able to run batch scripts and other command line programs just like we do when using the "run" dialog.

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 872
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #93 on: March 30, 2024, 11:27 AM »
Yes I've mentioned this thing about the command line window staying open when launching a GUI driven program in message #34, it pretty much always happened for me (or at least since then), no matter which OS I used the program on.
As a workaround I've been using the "start" command to launch any GUI mode program from CRAP.

I think there must be some other way (maybe an API or something?) that you can use which doesn't rely on CMD at all. It still should be able to run batch scripts and other command line programs just like we do when using the "run" dialog.
-ConstanceJill (March 30, 2024, 02:23 AM)

Well now that I’m reproducing it on my end too I might be able to fix it. :Thmbsup:

Maybe time for an option to not use CMD.EXE at all in each entry since MS appears to have stopped the one method.

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 872
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #94 on: March 30, 2024, 03:45 PM »
Going forward an option to skip the command window will be in. With it enabled only the app should be listed in the prefix then any other arguments for said application in the command suffix.

Does that sound like it would be okay?
« Last Edit: March 30, 2024, 07:50 PM by hamradio »

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #95 on: March 31, 2024, 07:40 AM »
I'm not completely sure what that entails when it comes to running such commands as:
explorer.exe \\target_name_here\C$
since the target's name is usually between the prefix and suffix.

Does that mean the prefix would stop, in this example, at "explorer.exe" and we'd have to insert the target name within the suffix, between "\\" and "\C$", while also making sure that the target's name doesn't get added between "explorer.exe" and " \\" somehow?
If so, then I'm not even sure that the whole prefix and suffix thing makes that much sense any more.

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 872
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #96 on: March 31, 2024, 08:47 AM »
Here’s my reasoning for the application launch mode. With the command line window the command is all arguments side. If I am going to skip it then I need a reliable way to tell what the executable is without dealing with the arguments side of things. It basically will have a checkbox which says skip the command window. Then all the arguments you type including the <var> placeholder into what is the command suffix for command window items.

Think I also left the suffix in for the earlier versions before <var> was added just so it didn’t break things.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2024, 09:01 AM by hamradio »

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #97 on: March 31, 2024, 09:59 AM »
I guess it should be fine, and if even if for whatever reason I couldn't make it work, well as long as it's an option I suppose I could just not enable it :D

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 872
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #98 on: March 31, 2024, 09:17 PM »
In my early tests it works with my simple arguments I tested it with. Will work on polishing it up some. I know you didn’t request it but I have spent time on the themes to where they should look better and cover more of the application. It still won’t be 100% coverage area still but it is closer. Then I removed some themes (like black for one) but added a few like for example a light and a nicer dark theme. Next up is seeing about the shortcut files dropping to add the info in some capacity. That said if you want the changes so far to test in the next couple days or so I will upload a beta.

ConstanceJill

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2013 Release: Customizable Remote Administration Panel (CRAP)
« Reply #99 on: April 01, 2024, 03:23 AM »
Then I removed some themes (like black for one)
Aww, that's the one I was using on my work computer lately :(
BTW is it possible for the user to make custom themes, or are we restricted to usng the ones that the program ships with?