DonationCoder.com forum
 
Read-only archive. This is a static copy of the DonationCoder.com forum. Reading and searching work as before; logging in, posting and private messages do not.
Archive of 2026-10-21 · About this archive · Main site

Author Topic: Disable Auto Save totally  (Read 5,316 times)

Loeffelmaster

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 2
Disable Auto Save totally
« on: June 18, 2011, 07:07 PM »
Hi,

is there any way to diasble the auto save feature totally?
For my Calibre library I make a screenshot sometimes to add the book cover to the library. Therefore I just copy the screenshot into the clipboard. Afterwards I enter it into Calibre and save it there.
So I just don't need the file, not only that I doesn't need it, it is anoying to have to delete all the file over and over again.

What use has the "Don't Auto Save Captures" feature if the capture is saved anyway?

This progam is really cool, even though this is really anoying and I have still problems to make scrolling captures.
I have Version 2.95.01

Yours

Loeffel
Yours

Loeffel

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,931
    • Gathering Badge
    • Plugin Coding Medal
    • Participated in NANY Challenge Seventeen Times
    • Cody Award
    • Coding Snacks
    • Volunteers/Staff
Re: Disable Auto Save totally
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2011, 07:23 PM »
Hi Loeffel,

Here is a trick to basically do what you want:

Go to the "File Naming Template" options tab, and change the Defauilt New File Name to something that does not include %datetime%, for example just: "MyLatestScreenshot"

Then "uncheck" the box labeled "Auto sequence new file names to avoid overwriting old files"

Now each new capture will just replace the last file, so you will have only 1 screenshot file ever.

Original address: https://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=27084.0