topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Friday April 19, 2024, 2:28 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Backdoor Malware  (Read 4522 times)

beethoven

• Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Backdoor Malware
« on: November 15, 2008, 07:07 PM »
I have been using Find and Run for a few years now and think it's a great program. I am not updating each time an update comes out, my experience is sometimes when things work for you, don't mess with them.
Still, I do come back regularly to see if I am missing something and eventually will look for the upgrade.

Just wondering why the current version shows us with some alerts on Jotti or Virustotal: Backdoor.XiaoBird.42 (paranoid heuristics) (probable variant) - I assume this is a FP but is this something that could be cleared up with VBA?

mouser

• First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Backdoor Malware
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2008, 07:21 PM »
paranoid heuristics
thats a very good indicator that this is a false positive alarm -- i find those "advanced" heuristics to be totally worthless and harmful.

f0dder

• Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Backdoor Malware
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2008, 10:40 PM »