topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Friday November 8, 2024, 12:50 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: AutoHotKey bound hotkeys routinely being stolen  (Read 339 times)

TerminalFin

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2024
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
AutoHotKey bound hotkeys routinely being stolen
« on: October 30, 2024, 09:00 AM »
Greetings all!

I have a decent sized AHK script that contains multiple hotkeys and functions I use throughout the day. What I've found, however, is that from time to time, some of these hotkeys cease functioning.

As such, I've had to add in a "Reload" hotkey snippet that I can call that restores the other hotkeys and text replacements to function.

; Reload script
^!+x:: {
   Reload
   return
}

Is there a better way to do this, or to prevent the hotkeys/strings from being overriden by another app?

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,287
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AutoHotKey bound hotkeys routinely being stolen
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2024, 10:13 AM »
I have a similar reload action for the same problem.  Welcome to Windows, eh?  Also, since you can fit all the important bits on one line, you can save some space and rewrite your hotkey thusly:


Code: Autohotkey [Select]
  1. ^!+x:: Reload ; Reload script

TerminalFin

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2024
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AutoHotKey bound hotkeys routinely being stolen
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2024, 10:28 AM »
A little birdie told me you would be the one replying, Skwire :)

I think it was April ;-)