topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday December 3, 2020, 6:25 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: SOLVED: I would love a hotkey or desktop icon to disable/enable my default audio device  (Read 983 times)

HankFriedman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 147
  • A computer nerd whose also a psychic & astrologer
    • View Profile
    • Welcome to Hank Friedman's Website
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Hi! I have a DAC connected to my computer that sometimes doesn't wake up after my PC awakens after sleep.

If I go to Control Panel --> Sound and disable and re-enable it, it works again.

I don't want to use AutoHotkey, but if anyone reading this could create a tiny program that enables me to disable and then enable my default sound playback device, that would be really, really great.

Thanks!

Nod5

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,101
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
NirSoft's SoundVolumeView seems to do what you want.

You can switch between disabled and enabled state by using the /DisableEnable command, for example:
SoundVolumeView.exe /DisableEnable "Realtek High Definition Audio\Device\Speakers\Render"

If working then you can simply make a shortcut with such parameters and run it twice to disable and re-enable the DAC.

HankFriedman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 147
  • A computer nerd whose also a psychic & astrologer
    • View Profile
    • Welcome to Hank Friedman's Website
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Nod5:

You did it!

It works like a charm!

Thank you so much.

I am really grateful.

Nod5

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,101
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Happy to help  :)

Additional note to myself: it seems also possible to disable/reenable devices from Powershell https://stackoverflow.com/a/47262639

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,214
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Thanks, Nod5.  I'll mark this thread as solved and move it.