topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Tuesday March 19, 2024, 2:28 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: <asp:RadioButton /> Determining which is selected without javascript  (Read 6438 times)

h0meopathic

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I have 36 radio buttons in a form, all with the same groupName, and all with different IDs.  Is it possible to find out which ID is selected without fishing for it? Surely a dynamic control such as a radiobutton wouldn't have been made without a simple way of finding out which button was selected.

housetier

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,321
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
go check out asp:RadioButtonList, it has a bunch of properties that start with "Selected"

h0meopathic

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
You have to make a radiobuttonlist as follows

Code: HTML [Select]
  1. <asp:RadioButtonList ID="RadioButtonList1" runat="server" AutoPostBack="True"
  2.                    RepeatColumns="3" TextAlign="Left">
  3.                     <asp:ListItem Value="1">07:00AM-07:15AM</asp:ListItem>
  4.                     <asp:ListItem Value="2">07:15AM-07:30AM</asp:ListItem>
  5.                     <asp:ListItem Value="3">07:30AM-07:45AM</asp:ListItem>
  6.                     <asp:ListItem Value="4">07:45AM-08:00AM</asp:ListItem>
  7.                 </asp:RadioButtonList>

Then add some statements to make sure its working (inside submitButton_Click). radioButton is my label
Code: C# [Select]
  1. if (RadioButtonList1.SelectedIndex > -1)
  2.         {
  3.             radioButton.Text = "<br />you selected: " + RadioButtonList1.SelectedIndex.ToString();
  4.         }
  5.         else
  6.         {
  7.             radioButton.Text = "Select a radio button";
  8.         }

Then attache it to the database like so:
Code: C# [Select]
  1. appNameComm = new SqlCommand("INSERT INTO AppointmentName (LastName, FirstName, Email, BirthDate, Slot) " +
  2.                 "VALUES (@LastName, @FirstName, @Email, @BirthDate, @Slot)", conn);
  3. .
  4. .
  5. .
  6. appNameComm.Parameters.Add("@Slot", System.Data.SqlDbType.Int, 2);
  7.             appNameComm.Parameters["@Slot"].Value = RadioButtonList1.SelectedIndex.ToString();

housetier

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,321
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
be sure to check that SelectedWhatever is not null. Never trust user input and even a selected radio button is user input.