topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 6:17 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: IDEA: Microphone enabler  (Read 31636 times)

Learning

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
IDEA: Microphone enabler
« on: April 01, 2009, 02:00 AM »
hi all

a simple utility for people with less computer knowledge, that can enable the mic and raise mic volume up when double clicked

that's all

thanks

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,286
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2009, 03:15 AM »
a simple utility for people with less computer knowledge, that can enable the mic and raise mic volume up when double clicked

By enable, I assume you mean "unmute", right?  Also, what do you want to raise the volume to?  100%?  75%?

Learning

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2009, 04:21 AM »
By enable, I assume you mean "unmute", right?  Also, what do you want to raise the volume to?  100%?  75%?

Right unmute

for the mic volume I think 85% would be great

Thanks

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,277
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2009, 05:08 AM »
Skrommel has written two scripts relating to this..

MicMute - toggles the microphone's input volume between 0% and 100%.
PushToTalk - Press and hold Win+S to activate the microphone, release to disable.

both can be found here at Skrommel Software.

Learning

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2009, 05:34 AM »
Skrommel has written two scripts relating to this..

MicMute - toggles the microphone's input volume between 0% and 100%.
PushToTalk - Press and hold Win+S to activate the microphone, release to disable.

both can be found here at Skrommel Software.

I already have checked those two before starting this thread

MicMute wont unmute the mic
PushToTalk needs to be loaded and win-s to be pressed in order to activate the mic

that's not what im looking for  :)

I am looking for a little progy that when double clicked do two things:

1- unmute the mic (if found to be muted)
2- raise the mic volume up

thanks for the efforts

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 753
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2009, 08:44 AM »
SoundSet, 0, Microphone, mute
SoundSet, 85, Microphone

I haven't tested it, but if you are useing windows xp and have autohotkey installed, then you can use that, and when you run it, I belive it should unmute the microphone, and then set the volume to 85, and then it exits.
Though I don't know what it would do in vista, since each program that you run has its own seperate volume control.
[Insert really cool signature here]
« Last Edit: April 01, 2009, 08:45 AM by nite_monkey »

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,277
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2009, 09:30 AM »
that's not what im looking for  :)

I am looking for a little progy that when double clicked do two things:

1- unmute the mic (if found to be muted)
2- raise the mic volume up

no problem, PushToTalk can be modified to do what you want as nite_monkey has done. i don't have a microphone to test but i'd like to make a slight change to that script.. do give it a try and let us know. :)

#SingleInstance force
#NoEnv

SoundGet, GetVol, Microphone, Volume
If GetVol=0
SoundSet, 0, Microphone, Mute
;assuming that the preferred mic volume is 85
SoundSet, 85, Microphone

ExitApp

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 753
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2009, 09:38 AM »
lol, thanks lanux, you made my garbage code look more profesional.  :Thmbsup:
you could test it by substituting the microphone part of the script with either wave or master volume. I can't test it right now though, because I'm at school, and my mic is at home.
[Insert really cool signature here]

Learning

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2009, 10:15 AM »
nite_monkey, lanux128

I appreciate your kindness and efforts to help me

I recompiled the script of Push to Talk over and over,with the suggested values but it turned out to be not doing anything at all  :tellme:

it's not making any errors though

I wonder what went wrong.



Thanks again


Learning

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #9 on: April 01, 2009, 10:36 AM »
Sorry about my last reply

It's working fine now :Thmbsup: Thanks lanux128  :)

but still not what I was looking for. because the script is only effecting the playback control panel of the sound card and not the recording panel which I am interested in.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,277
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #10 on: April 01, 2009, 07:54 PM »
but still not what I was looking for. because the script is only effecting the playback control panel of the sound card and not the recording panel which I am interested in.

like nite_monkey, i don't have a mic to test so you'll have to do the testing for us. ;) anyway, i think it's because the recording panel is an extra component so maybe we need to add a ':2' after microphone. i posting the modified code, see if it helps..

#SingleInstance force
#NoEnv

SoundGet, GetVol, Microphone:2, Volume
If GetVol=0
SoundSet, 0, Microphone:2, Mute
;assuming that the preferred mic volume is 85
SoundSet, 85, Microphone:2

ExitApp


lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,277
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #11 on: April 01, 2009, 07:56 PM »
lol, thanks lanux, you made my garbage code look more profesional.  :Thmbsup:

actually i should thank you as your code simplified my work. :)

Learning

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #12 on: April 02, 2009, 07:46 AM »
lanux128

The new values are not doing anything to both control panels, playback and recording

maybe something is missing

Thanks a lot for your great share

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 753
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #13 on: April 02, 2009, 08:43 AM »
lanux128

The new values are not doing anything to both control panels, playback and recording

maybe something is missing

Thanks a lot for your great share
I tested both versions of the code yesterday when I got home from school. The first version changed the playback mic, and like Learning, the second version didn't do anything. I guess AHK just hates the recording panel.
[Insert really cool signature here]

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,277
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #14 on: April 02, 2009, 08:02 PM »
then we need to find out your sound hardware setup.. pls run this 'Sound Card Analysis' file and post the resulting window (see sample pic).

btw, Sound Card Analysis script is available in AHK's help file but this exe was kindly compiled by [user]Target[/user].
« Last Edit: October 03, 2010, 10:24 AM by mouser »

Learning

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #15 on: April 02, 2009, 08:44 PM »
here you go

http://i597.photobucket.com/albums/tt54/Learn_me/soundval.jpg
IDEA: Microphone enabler

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,277
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #16 on: April 02, 2009, 09:01 PM »
from the screenshot it shows the mic as the 2nd component unless you have two microphones in the playback panel. anyway, try both of these scripts and post the message boxes' contents. also it might help to know what kind sound card do you have.. :)

#SingleInstance force
#NoEnv

SoundGet, micmute, Microphone, Mute
If micmute = On
  SoundSet, 0, Microphone, Mute ; unmute the mic
;assuming that the preferred mic volume is 85
SoundSet, 85, Microphone
Msgbox Error: %ErrorLevel%
ExitApp
#SingleInstance force
#NoEnv

SoundGet, micmute, Microphone:2, Mute
If micmute = On
  SoundSet, 0, Microphone:2, Mute ; unmute the mic
;assuming that the preferred mic volume is 85
SoundSet, 85, Microphone:2
Msgbox Error: %ErrorLevel%
ExitApp

Learning

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #17 on: April 02, 2009, 11:23 PM »
well ...

the first code to the left gave out (error:0)

the second code to the right gave (error: Mixer doesn't have that many of that component type)

My sound card is Realtek High Definition Audio

and i just have one built in mic

I noticed that recording control panel doesn't have mute option but only select option, I wonder if this has anything to do with this task  :)


Thanks a lot

Learning

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #18 on: April 02, 2009, 11:34 PM »
Please take a look at this script:


#SingleInstance force

SoundGet,micvo,Microphone:2,Volume
If micvol=<90
{
  SoundSet,0,Microphone:2,On
  SoundSet,85,Microphone:2,Volume
}
Else
  SoundSet,85,Microphone:2,Volume
  SoundSet,0,Microphone:2,On

ExitApp

this script is not doing any thing to the recording panel, but when I change Microphone:2 to Microphone:1 it works perfectly on the playback panel exactly the way I want it.

I just don't know how to call the recording commands

Regards

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,277
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #19 on: April 03, 2009, 01:21 AM »
the first code to the left gave out (error:0)

the second code to the right gave (error: Mixer doesn't have that many of that component type)

this means AHK is not able to connect to the 2nd component (recording panel) as returned by the SoundCard Analysis program. that's why ':2' wouldn't work while ':1' works fine. either that or i'm missing something.

anyway, i'm afraid that we have to put this into KIV for the time being. :-\

Learning

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #20 on: April 03, 2009, 09:44 PM »
Maybe best choice is Visual basic 6 I just don't know how to start  :(

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,277
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #21 on: April 03, 2009, 10:01 PM »
just to compare notes, i happen to have the same soundcard but i don't have a built-in microphone. as can be seen from the pic, i have the mute option. maybe i'll see if i can borrow a mic and do some further testing.

ws-realtek_mic-1.pngIDEA: Microphone enabler


Learning

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #22 on: April 04, 2009, 03:23 PM »
Staying tuned  :)

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,776
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #23 on: April 05, 2009, 02:56 PM »
I see that 'SoundCardAnalysis.exe' is written up on gHacks today  :up:

Here's the link to it.


Learning

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Microphone enabler
« Reply #24 on: May 28, 2009, 08:58 PM »
to remember  :)