topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Friday April 19, 2024, 2:25 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Disable Start Menu  (Read 15844 times)

mwfuss

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Disable Start Menu
« on: February 28, 2008, 10:50 AM »
Is anyone able to suggest a way to permanently disable the Start Menu button from appearing on the taskbar on Windows XP? I have been using the program StartKiller from Tordex to do this, but there seem to be some issues between this program and Dexpot [when I change desktops, the Start Menu button reappears on the taskbar for the newly accessed desktop]. I never use the Start Menu and I think that it would be great to be able to remove it altogether. Some may think this request strange, but it just comes down to a matter of personal preference and my preference is to disable the Start Menu. My thanks in advance to anyone who proves to be of assistance.

jazper

  • Coding Snacks Author
  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
    • Jazper's Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Disable Start Menu
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2008, 11:08 AM »
Pretty simple to do actually in a few lines of code.

This is delphi code to do it:

Code: Delphi [Select]
  1. FHandle := FindWindowEx(windows.FindWindow('Shell_TrayWnd', ''), 0, 'Button', nil); // find the Start Button
  2.     ShowWindow(FHandle, SW_SHOW); // visible
  3.     ShowWindow(FHandle, SW_HIDE);  // not visible

I could throw this code in a "service" application that would always run and check to see if it's visible, and if it is set it to Hide....what you think?




mwfuss

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Disable Start Menu
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2008, 11:31 AM »
jazper,

That would wonderful. I am not a programmer and I would not know where to begin on my own.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Disable Start Menu
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2008, 12:04 PM »
I think this is even one of the options in gpedit.msc..
[edit] apparently, it isn't :) [/edit]
« Last Edit: February 28, 2008, 12:08 PM by jgpaiva »

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,066
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Disable Start Menu
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2008, 01:36 PM »
I haven't played with AHK for a while but looking at the Delphi fragment above that looks like something that would be very easily acheivable with an AHK script - and you could have a hotkey to toggle START on and off when you need it. The compiled AHK script could simply be added to your Startup group.

jazper

  • Coding Snacks Author
  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
    • Jazper's Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Disable Start Menu
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2008, 02:06 PM »
Here you go: http://jazper.dcmemb.../02/disablestart.zip

EDIT: I took Carol's idea for hotkeys and made a change.  Shift+Ctl+E will Hide the Start Button, Shift+Ctl+D will Show theStart button. The link above has the new changes in it.



This is *not* a service application. What you should do is put it in your StartUp group so when you log in,it'll launch and run in the background.  There is no GUI. It runs as "DisableStart.exe"

I only tested this on XP SP2


j.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2008, 02:30 PM by jazper »

mwfuss

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Disable Start Menu
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2008, 03:39 PM »
Thank you jazper, I will try it out as soon as I have the opportunity.

dandersahn

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Disable Start Menu
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2008, 10:58 AM »
jazper,  Did you use AHK to create that?  If so, would you mind posting the AHK script code?

Does anyone know if it is possible to not only hide the start button, but remove the space as well (like StartKiller does)?

Also, does anyone know if that works on Vista?