topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Friday November 27, 2020, 2:11 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: From within GTA to Excel  (Read 1099 times)

HelmutWe

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
From within GTA to Excel
« on: April 20, 2020, 12:55 AM »
Looking for a new challenge I got the idea of updating an Excel table from within GTA, e.g. having Excel adding "1" to the sum of a row (another won GTA race). I don't think programming Excel using Visual Basic would be a problem.  I could manage that some 20 years ago. But not leaving a running game, not even change the application <alt>+<tab>,  certainly is. Any ideas are highly welcome.
And the best that you can hope for is to die in your sleep (Schlitz/Rogers)

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,488
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: From within GTA to Excel
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2020, 01:27 PM »
You can instantiate an Excel COM object, and manipulate it completely from there, so I think you'll manage that fine. Lots of resources to be found in 'da google' when you get stuck ;)

HelmutWe

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: From within GTA to Excel
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2020, 03:22 PM »
My question was above all how pass a keystroke to windows from within GTA. Excel would not be the problem. If I could pass any keystroke from within GTA to windows then that would be a progress.
And the best that you can hope for is to die in your sleep (Schlitz/Rogers)

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 9,198
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: From within GTA to Excel
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2020, 10:50 PM »
Maybe AutoHotKey could be used to catch keystrokes and send them to Excel?

HelmutWe

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: From within GTA to Excel
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2020, 11:37 PM »
Thank you. I got that hint from several sides. I would be happy if I could control Excel at all from within GTA. I don't need to collect data from the game. I fancy an open workbook and worksheet in the background. All I want as a start is to write "1" to a column's last cell. I once was half an expert in Word-VBA and Excel-VBA and am fighting HKA at present. It works in GTA sometimes, meaning I can sent keystrokes to the game in certain situations e.g. if the text-dialogue is open, I can't open nor can I close the dialogue, however.
And the best that you can hope for is to die in your sleep (Schlitz/Rogers)

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10,747
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: From within GTA to Excel
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2020, 11:07 AM »
I think what you're seeing is the fact that listening from multiple sources can cause a source not to get the message depending on how the first in the chain deals with the message.