Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 19, 2014, 10:17:43 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4] 5 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: LATEST VERSION INFO THREAD - DcUpdater - 1.30.01 - Apr 4, 2012  (Read 45768 times)
y0himba
Charter Member
***
Posts: 422



Yar.

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #75 on: January 06, 2010, 07:46:15 AM »

Download page still says Aug 19 of last year?  huh
Logged

My Web Site:  http://www.y0himba.net
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #76 on: January 06, 2010, 07:52:13 AM »

thanks for pointing that out, fixed now.
Logged
jnulu
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #77 on: February 16, 2010, 11:14:14 PM »

For the past few days, without any warning, I frequently get an error message that says
"DonationCoder.com DcUpdater tool has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience".
Please tell Microsoft about this problem etc.
This happens even when I am not invoking FARR which is running quietly in the system tray.

Then when I try to "check for updates now" from the FARR window, I see that I have no updates for FARR
but for DcUpdater, I see that it is trying to retrieve the latest updates, and then I get this error message again.
I close the error message and simultaneously, FARR window also closes, but is still seen running in the system tray.
After trying two more times, I learn that there are no updates without the error message appearing.

I am using Windows XP Pro with SP3 and use Opera browser v.10.10 which is the latest stable version.
Would appreciate any help in resolving this issue. Thanks!


* DcUpdater Error.png (16.89 KB, 424x267 - viewed 181 times.)
« Last Edit: February 16, 2010, 11:21:50 PM by jnulu » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #78 on: February 16, 2010, 11:18:58 PM »

one thing you might do while i look into this is disable scheduled update checking from within farr, and just check for updates manually.  won't solve your problem per se, but will stop it from happening while you aren't around.

does the computer you are using go to sleep/standby/hibernate ?
Logged
Deozaan
Charter Member
***
Posts: 6,087



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #79 on: February 16, 2010, 11:24:04 PM »

I would recommend locking this thread (and other LATEST VERSION INFO THREADS) so that only you can post in it, mouser, to announce the latest updates on the software.

If people need troubleshooting help, they should start a new topic.

I'm subscribed to this thread to be notified of updates, and while I'm all for helping people out who are experiencing trouble with the software, posts to this thread really should be limited only to updates.

Yes, I realize I'm contradicting myself by posting here, but I thought having this in context here would help exemplify why I recommend locking it.
Logged

jnulu
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #80 on: February 16, 2010, 11:31:22 PM »

Hi Mouser!

Thanks for your immediate response!
I have disabled the auto update from within FARR as advised
As for your question,the PC does not hibernate or go into a standby mode.
However, at times it does go to the screen saver mode when I have not touched the computer for about ten minutes.
Best wishes

Jay
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #81 on: August 31, 2010, 09:58:00 AM »

I've uploaded a beta to get some feedback before releasing:

Version 1.27.01 - Sep 7, 2010
  • Rebuilt with libcurl 7.21.1 -- hopefully this fixes rare crashes of the updater.
  • Improved statusbar messages.
  • Added new information when the updates being shown are just from a specific program, with checkbox to show all known updateable applications.
  • Improved dupe detection -- should eliminate the occasional display of duplicate items in updater.
  • Improved handling of case when updater is launched and an instance is already running.
  • Fixed mouseover hints from options.
  • Added "explore here" item to right-click menu for entries.

« Last Edit: September 07, 2010, 01:55:34 PM by mouser » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #82 on: August 31, 2010, 12:40:24 PM »

would appreciate some feedback from people who had problems with the previous version crashing.
Logged
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,522


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #83 on: August 31, 2010, 03:05:50 PM »

Seems to be working fine.  But to know for sure, I have to wait.  It was an error that would just appear out of nowhere...like, I'd just come to my computer and see it there.  So, if I don't see it in coming weeks, I would say the problem is solved.
Logged

jnulu
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #84 on: August 31, 2010, 11:13:48 PM »

Hi Mouser!

Thanks for following this up.
I've installed the new Beta DC Updater and will let you know it works after
watching it's performance for some time.
Regards
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #85 on: August 31, 2010, 11:51:55 PM »

thanks guys!
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #86 on: September 05, 2010, 04:25:25 PM »

well what's the verdict on the new version? any crashing?
Logged
jnulu
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #87 on: September 06, 2010, 01:45:23 PM »

Seems to be working fine, Mouser!
In any event, you'll be the first to know if it isn't  smiley
Thanks again.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,061



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #88 on: September 07, 2010, 08:22:50 AM »

no problems here either - I really didnt keep track before but it was crashing at least once a week for the last while and has been okay since this beta
Logged

Tom
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,522


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #89 on: September 07, 2010, 03:09:01 PM »

I haven't seen anything lately.  but, honestly, I'm not sure if I turned off all the auto-update settings or not.  Sorry if I'm not much help.
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #90 on: September 08, 2010, 12:05:29 AM »

i've pushed out another update because the previous version (beta) was linking to mfc71.dll, the microsoft runtime dll which isn't installed on all windows PCs, because that would be too easy -- resulting in an error for such users*.  (if the crash resurfaces, we will know that this was the cause).

* one day i predict it will be revealed that half of microsoft was infiltrated 15 years ago with people determined to sabotage the company from within.. nothing else could explain the consistently stupid self destructive behavior from such a smart company.

« Last Edit: September 08, 2010, 12:11:34 AM by mouser » Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,155



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #91 on: September 08, 2010, 02:11:23 PM »

Call me dim if you must ( ohmy) but…

DcUpdater used to run automatically here but always failed. Following the failure, a relaunch ran mainly without problems. So, I stopped the automatic invocation of DcU. 

I can neither recall nor find where/how to re-enable automatic periodic checking. Please, can somebody remind me?
Logged

Chris
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #92 on: September 08, 2010, 02:14:47 PM »

strangely enough, you can't really ask dcupdater to generically run automatic update checks.
only FARR has an auto update check that invokes it, and you can access that from the FARR options tab "Plugins and Updates".
Logged
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,522


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #93 on: September 08, 2010, 02:28:38 PM »

strangely enough, you can't really ask dcupdater to generically run automatic update checks.
only FARR has an auto update check that invokes it, and you can access that from the FARR options tab "Plugins and Updates".
Ah!  i think that was the thing causing my crashes.  I had to go in and disable that setting in FARR.
Logged

cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,155



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #94 on: September 08, 2010, 06:44:28 PM »

strangely enough, you can't really ask dcupdater to generically run automatic update checks.
only FARR has an auto update check that invokes it, and you can access that from the FARR options tab "Plugins and Updates".
Thanks! Now I can check to see if you have solved the problems I was having.
Logged

Chris
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #95 on: September 08, 2010, 06:50:49 PM »

i have a suspicion that the crashing bug may come back now that i have recompiled it with MFC statically built-in; if the problems to return i will try to release it with mfc not bundled in.
Logged
jnulu
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #96 on: September 08, 2010, 11:27:00 PM »

So should I install the new update that you released on 9/7 or wait till this is sorted out, Mouser?
Thanks!
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #97 on: September 08, 2010, 11:39:52 PM »

everyone please install and report any crashes; it certainly won't be any worse than previous versions and has a few other fixes and new features.
Logged
bob99
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 316

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #98 on: September 09, 2010, 10:51:39 AM »


What may have caused this? I used DcUpdater to update last time.



Logged
jnulu
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #99 on: September 10, 2010, 12:11:02 AM »

I have installed the latest DC updater (sep 7th, 2010) and seems to be running fine.

I also get the same window that bob99 has posted - "Newer installed" under the status column for Find and Run Robot.

I don't think it is a glitch, but wonder why it doesn't say 'up to date' if it is indeed up to date, which in my case it is.
Regards

« Last Edit: September 10, 2010, 12:12:47 AM by jnulu » Logged
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4] 5 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.048s | Server load: 0.17 ]