Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 23, 2017, 10:22 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Does it work on Firefox x86 en US without long delay between captures?  (Read 607 times)

Doug Eldridge

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I can capture two screens then there is a several second delay before it will capture again.  Can this delay be avoided or speeded up?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 37,418
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
There's no reason it should have such a delay.  Let me ask some questions:
Are you using latest version?
Is it only Firefox that is delayed?
What mode of capture are you using? (full workspace, active window, etc.)
If you do repeated captures is it only the first one that has the delay?

Does it help if you turn off these options: On "Capture Options" tab, the option "Retrieve and store URL"
This sounds like it might be your problem:
Screenshot - 8_14_2017 , 5_59_07 PM.png

Doug Eldridge

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I did turn off the url option.  Doesn't help.  Captures are delayed and repeat the first shot again and again.  Woe is me.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,795
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Captures are delayed and repeat the first shot again and again.
hi Doug,
what exactly do you mean when you say 'repeat the first shot again and again' ?

I did turn off the url option.  Doesn't help.
mouser can probably fix this problem,
but you'll need to answer the other questions too:
Let me ask some questions:
  • Are you using latest version?
  • Is it only Firefox that is delayed?
  • What mode of capture are you using? (full workspace, active window, etc.)
  • If you do repeated captures is it only the first one that has the delay?
(I numbered them for ease of answering)

Doug Eldridge

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
The same capture repeats each time the Print Screen key is pressed.  Sometimes a several seconds or minutes delay will produce a new image.

Doug Eldridge

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Answers
1 Yes I uninstalled old programs and installed the latest editions of each that I could find.
2 Problem occurs on Explorer also.
3 Using Active Window
4 The first click allows two quick captures then delay sets in.  I have no need to edit before saving and have tried to turn edit options off.  Maybe I missed something on the extensive list of options.

Mouser, I appreciate the time you are spending trying to help me.  I have used Screenshot Captor for years and when I get it working right it does a great job.  Always have to fiddle with settings when a new Firefox edition is installed.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 37,418
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Quote
3 Using Active Window

Ok so this could be a clue, if it only happens during active window capture.
Go to the "Window Capturing 1" tab and uncheck the option "Try to capture Aero Glass transparency effects".

You might also try on "Widow Capturing 2" tab to uncheck "Try to detect (active) window transparent.."

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,019
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
What was that on-line storage and sync util that grabbed the PrtScr key and does 'undecent' things with it...? (hint: it sits in the systray area)

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 8,921
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
What was that on-line storage and sync util that grabbed the PrtScr key and does 'undecent' things with it...? (hint: it sits in the systray area)

OneDrive

Doug Eldridge

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
OK, it now does not repeat the same image after subsequent clicks.  But... there is still a delay.  I tried to remove the 4000 delay to allow editing but I didn't seem to get it right.

Doug Eldridge

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Oops.  It is again repeating the image first clicked on with subsequent clicks.

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,019
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Please provide some more details:
- Operating system?
- OneDrive installed? if yes: disabled capture of the PrtScr key there?
- Other screenshot/capture tools installed?
- What AV is installed? Does it allow/block screenshot tools?
- Where are the screenshot files stored, local disk or network/nas?

Doug Eldridge

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Ath  here are answers

Windows 7 OS
No other screen shot programs installed unless the Windows Print Screen key is one.
Avast Free.  Doesn't say that it blocks screenshots
Stored on desktop hard drive.

Thanks

Doug Eldridge

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
One Drive doesn't show up on a Programs Search, so I guess not.