Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • November 17, 2017, 08:54 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Launching Windows Apps  (Read 957 times)

joes_garage

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Launching Windows Apps
« on: March 28, 2017, 10:17 AM »
Hello.

I was wondering if there's a way to launch the so called Windows apps (Edge, the new (Windows 10) Calculator, Clock, etc) from FARR (see this list I got. Note that I'm using Classic Shell, thus the look of my start menu):
ListOfWindowsApps.pngLaunching Windows Apps

I tried adding C:\Program Files\WindowsApps and C:\Windows\SystemApps to the search folders, but it didn't work. As I found checking the running exe proprieties in process explorer, these apps appear to require some -ServerName parameter to be passed in for the app to run

Edge params:
EdgeProperties.pngLaunching Windows Apps

Time params:
TimeProperties.pngLaunching Windows Apps

So, if there's no actual way for FARR to do that as of now, is this a feature we could expect in the near future?

Thanks,

joce.

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 555
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launching Windows Apps
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2017, 10:28 AM »
+1

i think this is already on mouser's list of new feature requests


nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 555
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launching Windows Apps
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2017, 10:35 AM »
i personally use autohotkey scripts for every app i want :

Quote
Run Skype://

Quote
Run fb-messenger://

Quote
Run calculator://

Skype://, fb-messenger://, calculator:// are registered protocols in windows...

you can also use the run built-in command like so (directly in FARR search box) :
run calculator://

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 37,595
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launching Windows Apps
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2017, 10:41 AM »
Yeah I will add this asap -- moving to top of my todo list.

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 555
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launching Windows Apps
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2017, 10:51 AM »
Quote
Yeah I will add this asap -- moving to top of my todo list.

really nice add to ease the learning curve of FARR  :Thmbsup:

joes_garage

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launching Windows Apps
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2017, 11:28 AM »
Thanks Mouser! :-)

jcnassoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launching Windows Apps
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2017, 06:30 AM »
Yeah I will add this asap -- moving to top of my todo list.
Awesome. This will help keep FARR my one-stop place to launch apps.

One of the things I tried to work around this--unsuccessfully--was to create a shortcut to Skype with the hopes FARR would find it. I even set up a .BAT to run the shortcut. Neither one was found by FARR.

I would love to know why--does FARR only find registered programs? I don't think so as I do see other .BATs I've set up for different purposes.

Thanks.
Alex E. Luyando J.C.N. Associates, L.L.C. Microsoft Visual FoxPro Database Application Design and Development | IT Project Management (PMP)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 37,595
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launching Windows Apps
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2017, 06:32 AM »
The only reason FARR wouldn't show your new shortcuts and bat files would be if they aren't located in one of the folders that FARR searches.  You can edit that folder list in the options.

jcnassoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launching Windows Apps
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2017, 06:45 AM »
The only reason FARR wouldn't show your new shortcuts and bat files would be if they aren't located in one of the folders that FARR searches.  You can edit that folder list in the options.
Awesome! Perfect!! That totally works for me. Thanks!