Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • October 22, 2017, 12:35 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Screen Capture by handle  (Read 2743 times)

limelect

  • Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Screen Capture by handle
« on: December 22, 2016, 12:23 PM »
main2.pngScreen Capture by handle
NANY 2017 Entry Information

Application Name Screen Capture By handle
Version 1.0.0.1
Short Description Catch hidden screen by its handle
Supported OSes All , but checked with window 7
Web Page www.limelect.com
Download Link * ScreenCapture.zip (1123.55 kB - downloaded 162 times.)
System Requirements
  • Non
  • Non
Version History
  • 1.0.0.1
Author www.limelect.com


Description
I have used Screen Capture , by mouser , for a long time.
Excellent program.
I have used many other before that.
How ever non gave me any hidden screen.

My program , although a wile on my site , has added functions
for Donationcoder fans to handle more things and bug fix.

Screen capture by handle can catch graphics you cannot
catch with an ordinary Screen capture program.
Since all components on page of a program use handles
a button (key) , for example , on a program can be saved as bitmap.
To catch this same button with a "normal screen capture" one
has to use an area function and use kind of an image edit program
to modify.
In this program the button is caught NETO ,by handle , and shown
as is, no need to use an image program to manipulate.


Features
Screen capture by handle.

Planned Features
non

Screenshots
main2.png

Usage
Installation
UnZip the zip file into a directory

Using the Application
Help included

Uninstallation
Just delete

Tips
See the Help file

Known Issues
non
« Last Edit: December 22, 2016, 12:31 PM by limelect »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 37,495
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screen Capture by handle
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2016, 12:41 PM »
Neat.  Nice to have you participating in NANY again this year, limelect.  :up:

Arthur Menu

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screen Capture by handle
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2017, 09:31 PM »
Hi,

I'm trying this out. I grab a screen. I click on image area and see a square outlined within the larger image. I click on grab expecting that the image area will become a new image that I can send to the clipboard but nothing happens. Am I misunderstanding how this app works?
-- Arthur

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,271
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screen Capture by handle
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2017, 02:35 AM »
Quote
To use:

Double click a tree line. Get the handle number. Grab the bit map.

Maybe even open the help file and read! > "Save File..."

Arthur Menu

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screen Capture by handle
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2017, 09:36 PM »
I did read the Help file. I am trying to do what is described in the "More features" section:

"Activate an image area.
This feature allow to save a portion of the screen.
Resize , or move , the image area with the mouse.
Zoom will zoom the bitmap inside Image area

Saving the image can be done after pressing the GRAB key.
One can save full or partial graphics to BMP or JPG."

I activate a smaller image area within the larger image. See file attached.
screencap.pngScreen Capture by handle
I then click on Grab but the smaller image area is not grabbed.

So how do I grab the smaller image area?

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,271
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screen Capture by handle
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2017, 10:36 AM »
if SCbH already was open, you will first need to click "Refresh".

Arthur Menu

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screen Capture by handle
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2017, 12:01 AM »
I open scbh, grab a handle and now I see a specific window in the screen catch area. I open an image area in that window.

I c1ick on Refresh, click on Grab, and the window disappears. In its place I see my desktop in the scbh screen catch area  with the outline of the image area superimposed on it.

The image area I wanted to grab has disappeared and not been grabbed.

If I made a mistake in the sequence of actions, please give me a step-by-step description of what I should be doing.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2017, 12:11 AM by Arthur Menu »

Mattes57

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screen Capture by handle
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2017, 08:18 AM »
This is a very interesting tool. For further development, I'd like to use it from the command line with options for handle No., output file etc. (e.g. in a timed batch loop).


The "ScaleMode" bar is not shown completely on ma laptop. (see Attachment).
scalemode.jpgScreen Capture by handle

wdstarr

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screen Capture by handle
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2017, 02:43 PM »
I have a general question, because I don't know what any of this "handle" terminology even means: If anybody's used both, how does this compare to Mouser's ScreenCaptor,
http://www.donationc...er/screenshotcaptor/
in terms of (a) capabilities and (b) ease of use by know-nothings like me? (And also, I guess, (c) learning curve.)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,832
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screen Capture by handle
« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2017, 03:13 PM »
I have a general question, because I don't know what any of this "handle" terminology even means: If anybody's used both, how does this compare to Mouser's ScreenCaptor,
http://www.donationc...er/screenshotcaptor/
in terms of (a) capabilities and (b) ease of use by know-nothings like me? (And also, I guess, (c) learning curve.)

hi wdstarr
"Screen Capture by handle" here is much more specialised programme -- if you simply want to take screenshots, Screenshot Captor is your man. I'll call it 'SC' -- it has become much more user friendly in the last couple of years. The best introduction is probably one of mouser's videos
http://www.donationc...c/3ds/sc27/sc27.html
this one has a great summary - but goes very quick: you'll probably need to use pause and rewind occasionally :-)