Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 08, 2016, 04:01:28 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Screenshot of expanded dropdown menu with cursor--how to???  (Read 639 times)

Holisticmdwf

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Screenshot of expanded dropdown menu with cursor--how to???
« on: January 12, 2016, 12:00:36 PM »
I am trying to get a screenshot of a web page showing the cursor and an expanded dropdown menu.  I have set the delay in preferences to 6000 in both locations in that window.  It seems to have been applied.  But when I choose "grab selected region" and form the box around the region however, there is absolutely NO delay and I cannot get it to let me go to drop down the menu I want to show.  I have no idea what I am doing wrong.  I am working with the latest version of your Screenshot software in Windows 10 Pro.  Any ideas??

It is not clear to me how to send this to the entire forum.  I have checked the help menu in the software and although it says what I want to do is possible, it does not give me any additional info on how, other than what I describe here. It is ok with me if you forward this to the entire forum.  Thanks

Holisticmdwf

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot of expanded dropdown menu with cursor--how to???
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2016, 01:14:02 PM »
I finally figured out that the delay comes BEFORE you get to select and capture the area of the screen you want to.  So I think I have it, but it wasn't intuitive, at least not to me and wasn't explained at all in the HELP section of the software.


Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot of expanded dropdown menu with cursor--how to???
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2016, 05:25:16 PM »
did you get the capture of the menu, the way you wanted to?

------

and Welcome   well over 2½ years ago  :up:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,417
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot of expanded dropdown menu with cursor--how to???
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2016, 05:28:26 PM »
the delay is almost totally useless when it comes to the "selected region" capture mode.
if you want to capture a menu, using a full screen capture with delay makes some sense, and then CROP the region you want to capture after the fact.