Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • October 01, 2016, 05:26:11 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Scrolling capture?  (Read 1677 times)

jojo99

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Scrolling capture?
« on: September 30, 2014, 01:31:00 AM »
Can SC scroll a browser window and make a copy as it scrolls?  Like the commercial program screen capture program Hypersnap?

Also can SC glue multiple captures together to be saved as one file (again same as above program).

Stephen66515

  • Animated Giffer in Chief
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 3,112
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling capture?
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2014, 01:43:43 AM »
1. Yes

2. I think the new version has that.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,277
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling capture?
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2014, 01:48:19 PM »
Of course SC does all that; newer versions of SC also include an additional manual-method for scrolling captures that will work when all others fail.

jojo99

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling capture?
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2014, 02:55:25 PM »
Could you please point as to where this functionality is and how to invoke it?  I've missed it.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,277
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling capture?
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2014, 02:57:29 PM »
Right click on the SC tray icon and select the item "Grab Windows Object or scrolling window" or hit default hotkey of Ctrl+Shift+PrtScr and then select the area to capture and follow instructions.

jojo99

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling capture?
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2014, 03:11:08 PM »
OK, I will try that. 

How about gluing multiple clips together into one?

Thanks.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,251
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling capture?
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2014, 03:14:49 PM »
OK, I will try that.  

How about gluing multiple clips together into one?

Thanks.

in the main SC window, drag an image from the side panel (thumbnails) onto the main image - again, you'll get a dialogue with options.

=> Note that you will need the most recent version (just released today).
Tom

jojo99

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling capture?
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2014, 12:51:43 PM »
Right click on the SC tray icon and select the item "Grab Windows Object or scrolling window" or hit default hotkey of Ctrl+Shift+PrtScr and then select the area to capture and follow instructions.

The scrolling capture works but it is pretty complicated and not automated.  In the Hypersnap program it is a simple Ctrl+Shift+S command with the cursor positioned in the window.  It is limited to vertical scroll.  If you want to terminate the capture, just use the Esc key.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,251
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling capture?
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2014, 01:39:49 PM »
Right click on the SC tray icon and select the item "Grab Windows Object or scrolling window" or hit default hotkey of Ctrl+Shift+PrtScr and then select the area to capture and follow instructions.

The scrolling capture works but it is pretty complicated and not automated.  In the Hypersnap program it is a simple Ctrl+Shift+S command with the cursor positioned in the window.  It is limited to vertical scroll.  If you want to terminate the capture, just use the Esc key.

Pros and cons.


From what I've read, if you want to do captures in browser, you're better off using a browser add-on (than any screen capture app), or, in FF at least, there's an inbuilt way of doing it (there is a thread here somewhere ... see this dc post, and following posts).
Tom