Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 08, 2016, 08:01:55 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Fixed size window, in center of screen  (Read 3063 times)

morganmd2

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Fixed size window, in center of screen
« on: July 14, 2013, 07:57:44 PM »
Hi - I need to end up with a fixed 1024 x 768 image with a specific part of the image in the exact dead center.
I can always put cross hairs on scotch tape on a specific spot on my screen (even the exact dead center).
I have set up a fixed 1024 x 768 window but how do I center it on the exact spot? It would be nice to have cross hairs on the fixed window, but...
I could capture the whole screen (2560 x 1600) but how would I edit it down to 1024 x 768 with the chosen spot dead center?
Do you have suggestions for the most efficient way to do this? I need to repeat on a thousand images.
Thanks,
Chris

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed size window, in center of screen
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2013, 09:34:48 PM »
This sounds like a job for MiniCap, the little brother of Screenshot Captor, which can be invoked via commandline and you can tell it EXACTLY the region on the screen to capture from by indicating the top,left,bottom,right coordinates.  After a little experimenting you'll have exactly the region you want and be able to trigger it via commandline.

You could also do this with Screenshot Captor by using RedBox capture mode and when you get the region exactly right, you would do REPEAT region captures after that.

But it still sounds to me like MiniCap might be the way to go for you.

morganmd2

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed size window, in center of screen
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2013, 10:03:51 PM »
Thank you Very Much.
I will see if I can learn how to use it.
Even simple things can be a challenge when new
but your recommendation gives me courage!

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed size window, in center of screen
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2013, 03:49:09 AM »

I could capture the whole screen (2560 x 1600) but how would I edit it down to 1024 x 768 with the chosen spot dead center?


Most any batch resizer could do this for shots in a specific folder.
FastStone
http://faststone.org/FSResizerDetail.htm
or others.

There is this little program that monitors a folder of your choosing and auto resizes. Dropresize, a portable resizer.

explanation w/download link-
http://www.addictive...to-auto-resize-them/
Download-
http://semigeek.word...ress.com/dropresize/

If you make a new folder and point SC and Dropresize to the same folder, this should work. Or using any batch resizer should work.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,335
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed size window, in center of screen
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2013, 09:57:50 AM »

I could capture the whole screen (2560 x 1600) but how would I edit it down to 1024 x 768 with the chosen spot dead center?


Most any batch resizer could do this for shots in a specific folder.
FastStone
http://faststone.org/FSResizerDetail.htm
or others.

I believe they wanted to crop to a particular part of the screen - *not* resize.

I'm not sure of the emphasis on the centre point - if it's always 1024x768 in the same location, any particular points - e.g. lop-left or bottom-right - are always going to stay in the same place.
Tom

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed size window, in center of screen
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2013, 10:18:41 AM »
I'm not really sure what the exact thing is that he wants to do.
It didn't sound like a crop but maybe it is.

Quote
I need to end up with a fixed 1024 x 768 image with a specific part of the image in the exact dead center.
I can always put cross hairs on scotch tape on a specific spot on my screen (even the exact dead center).

Fiddling with a resizer may work. And SC has resize functions as well.
Or maybe do something with the thumbnail in SC.
Sooo...?

morganmd2

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed size window, in center of screen
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2013, 11:52:20 AM »
Thank you for all your helpful input. Resizing is something I have done before. I understand from your comments that it will not be hard to capture a fixed area of the screen repeatedly. The tricky part for me will be finding the exact center of that fixed area. I need to reposition every image so that the spot of interest (different on each image) is exactly dead center in the capture.  I probably do not have the patience or skills to use a command line program. I could use the screen coordinates of the corners of the capture screen (determined by using a mouse position reporter), calculate the coordinates of the center of the rectangle and put scotch tape with an X at that point, and then center the pictures on the scotch tape. I have a simple mind and have also thought about cutting out a 4:3 ratio piece of paper, finding the center by folding corner to corner, and then cutting out the center to locate the scotch tape . The easiest thing for me would be if there were a program where the capture rectangle size could be fixed, had crosshairs at the center, and could be dragged to the point of interest for each capture.
Thanks Again,
Chris

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,335
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed size window, in center of screen
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2013, 03:00:07 PM »
There are programmes that do the following:
say you have 200 photos of a person, they will 'center' the eyes in the same place in each image. I think they also resize image so face is the same. It's *possible* that you could use one of these programmes for your needs.

but what are they called ... anyone?
I believe (dc member) Perry Mowbray used something like that for one of his recent videos (?)
I gotta head here so hopefully someone else can expand on that :)
Tom

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed size window, in center of screen
« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2013, 03:44:28 PM »
morganmd2, can you give an example of what you are getting a shot of?
If you can, we could try to produce the result you want.

morganmd2

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed size window, in center of screen
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2013, 03:54:42 PM »
Certainly - do you want a screen shot, and if so, how do I attach it?
My email is comorganmd@gmail.com.
What I need to keep in the center of the captured window is a vessel in the brain on a CT scan.  On the first images it is near the bottom middle of the image and on subsequent images it wanders over to the lower left corner and then up to the left side.  I would need to drag the CT slice so the vessel is in the exact center of the capture box on each image.  This would involve moving it a few pixels when going from one image to the next.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed size window, in center of screen
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2013, 04:11:09 PM »
Quote
The easiest thing for me would be if there were a program where the capture rectangle size could be fixed, had crosshairs at the center, and could be dragged to the point of interest for each capture.

Give me a couple of days and I can have a mode in Screenshot Captor that can do exactly this.  It's mostly already in place if you know how to use RedBox capture mode, i just need to add an option to show crosshairs in center.

morganmd2

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed size window, in center of screen
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2013, 04:13:01 PM »
AWESOME! xxoo

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed size window, in center of screen
« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2013, 04:47:25 PM »
just for your info

clicking the "preview" button next to the "post" button
will give you a place to add attachments like shots or images

morganmd2

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fixed size window, in center of screen
« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2013, 05:24:46 PM »
the area of interest is the gray triangle in the center of the image