Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 12:36:30 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Dock should not 'land grab'  (Read 1807 times)

RobC

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Dock should not 'land grab'
« on: July 07, 2013, 01:31:11 AM »
Your Dock should not alter other applications normal displays.
By that I mean it should not 'land grab' forcing other displays (that are expecting to be full screen) to occupy say 90% of the screen.

I was an Analyst in IT for 20 years and have been programming(VB6) for the subsequent 15 years.
What you are doing is 'unclean'
Even if you held a gun to my head, I would not do that in my programs.

Rob
 

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Dock should not 'land grab'
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2013, 01:42:12 AM »
Your Dock should not alter other applications normal displays.
By that I mean it should not 'land grab' forcing other displays (that are expecting to be full screen) to occupy say 90% of the screen.

I was an Analyst in IT for 20 years and have been programming(VB6) for the subsequent 15 years.
What you are doing is 'unclean'
Even if you held a gun to my head, I would not do that in my programs.

Rob
 
Oh Great Programmer Bob!  Please bless us more with your wisdom!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Dock should not 'land grab'
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2013, 04:56:44 AM »
Hi Rob,

It's traditional to have an "always visible" dock "reserve" the space at the side of the screen, so that other applications do not maximize on top of the dock.  The alternative would simply not be usable.

HOWEVER,

It sounds like the option you are wanting is the "AutoHide" or "AutoSlide" option, which is available if you click on the Dock node.

When you set a dock to be "AutoHide" or "AutoSlide" it will do as you request, and NOT reserve any space on the side of the screen -- instead it will simply show up on top of any maximized application when the cursor hovers over that area.

I think that's what you were wanting.

Screenshot - 7_7_2013 , 4_55_57 AM_ver001.pngDock should not 'land grab'

Edvard

  • Coding Snacks Author
  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,888
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Dock should not 'land grab'
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2013, 07:19:26 AM »
Or is he talking about a second monitor?  I've seen this happen before where a dock on one screen (across top or bottom)  reserves dock space across the other monitor as well, so running an application in fullscreen mode on another monitor doesn't get the full display.

RobC

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Dock should not 'land grab'
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2013, 10:01:04 AM »
Edward,
I have never had two monitors, but that would be a wee shock for those that do.

I am not a Dock fan, I just like simple Classic menus.
When the program first started, I copped a dock (in my face), and it took me a while to get it minimized to the Tray.
During that time, the 'Land Grabbing' was adding to my frustration.

Rob

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Dock should not 'land grab'
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2013, 10:31:34 AM »
Quote
took me a while to get it minimized to the Tray.

Thanks for reminding me to point that out -- LBC actually can be used in many ways, depending on your preferences:
  • You can have docks reserve space docked to the site of a monitor, so that it's always visible and no maximized apps will overlap it.
  • You can have docks autohide off the side of the screen and slide into view on top of maximized apps which have normal full monitor size.
  • You can minimize a "dock" into the system tray so that it's available as a menu in the system tray.
  • You can have a dock pop-up as a menu at the current cursor location when triggered via a customizable hotkey.