Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 04, 2016, 02:10:14 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?  (Read 8082 times)

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« on: February 18, 2013, 05:09:03 PM »
I don't know when they added the feature, because I haven't used standalone stack in a long time, but I love how when you click on a folder inside of it, it shows the contents of the folder along with a go back button. It used to just open the folder in explorer. The problem is that Standalone Stack can't open 64 bit programs (even if you tell it to run a shortcut to a 64 bit program). Does anyone know of a 64 bit program (or a 32 bit program that by some voodoo magic supports 64 bit programs) that pins to the windows 7 taskbar, will display the contents of a folder, and display the contents of sub-folders (rather than just open the folder in explorer)
[Insert really cool signature here]
« Last Edit: February 18, 2013, 05:42:42 PM by nite_monkey »

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2013, 05:38:12 PM »
Is this the StandaloneStack you mean?

http://www.chrisnsof....com/standalonestack

Also here is a manual way to pin a folder.
If this is what you want.

via- lifehacker  http://lifehacker.co...he-windows-7-taskbar
http://www.unawave.d...taskbar.html?lang=EN

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2013, 05:46:24 PM »
Is this the StandaloneStack you mean?

http://www.chrisnsof....com/standalonestack

Also here is a manual way to pin a folder.
If this is what you want.

via- lifehacker  http://lifehacker.co...he-windows-7-taskbar
http://www.unawave.d...taskbar.html?lang=EN
Yes, that is the standalonestack I was talking about. Your link to pinning folders to the taskbar is nothing like what I was wanting. I want a program that will display the contents of a folder in a little popup above the pinned program icon on the taskbar, and if you click on a folder inside of this popup, instead of it just opening the folder in the explorer, it would show the contents in the popup with a button to go back to the previous folder. Standalonestack does this exactly like I am wanting, but it is only a 32 bit program, so I can't have it run 64 bit programs.
[Insert really cool signature here]

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2013, 05:50:21 PM »
I did find a program called MiniWE that is 64 bit, but it constantly runs, so it shows up in the alt-tab menu. If I can't find anything else that is better, I guess I will just have to stick with miniwe.
[Insert really cool signature here]

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2013, 06:13:53 PM »
Okay, I get it, I think :)
Would a new toolbar on the taskbar work?
This is my dropbox folder for an example.
Just because I'm sure you know what it is, and not something else.

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2013, 06:17:37 PM »
Or maybe 7stacks.

http://www.intowindo...r-windows-7-taskbar/

ok, my brain hurts now..

Ampa

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 592
  • I am cute ;)
    • View Profile
    • MonkeyDash - 2 Player strategy boardgame
    • Donate to Member
Re: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2013, 07:17:04 PM »
Not quite the same, but I am liking Bins.

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2013, 07:43:30 PM »
Here's a shot of 7stacks.
the home page-http://alastria.com/software/7stacks/
This is actually the 'My Documents' folder, showing dc's folder with a 'goback' button, and the popup that will show how many folders and files inside.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2013, 07:49:02 PM by cmpm »

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2013, 12:03:57 AM »
7stacks is similar to standalone stack. I didn't check if it has a 64 bit version, or can launch 64 bit programs. I really like bins, but I don't have a job, so I can't buy any software, otherwise I would so buy bins. I also used to dock my icons folder to my taskbar, I just wanted something that looked cooler.

Edit:Well dang! I don't know how they did it, but 7stacks is a 32 bit program, but unlike standalone stack, it can open 64 bit programs. I can't remember if it could several months ago when I used it the first time. I do however know that neither 7stacks or standalone stack had the ability to browse folders within the program itself. Now I can get rid of miniWE and standalone stack.
[Insert really cool signature here]
« Last Edit: February 19, 2013, 12:11:08 AM by nite_monkey »

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,405
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2013, 11:27:23 AM »
There's nothing intrinsic that says a 32 bit app can't open 64-bit apps.  It just depends on how you use it. :)

ajfudge

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2013, 01:04:33 AM »
hi nite_monkey,

The solution that worked for me with regards to Standalone Stacks to recognize shortcuts of 64-bit programs is to use symbolic links. I wrote a tutorial on how to easily create symbolic links on this page:
http://www.sevenforu...s-stack-docklet.html


I do like Bins, but it's not free.

-ajfudge
« Last Edit: May 30, 2013, 10:20:48 AM by ajfudge »

pilgrim

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 316
  • Cogito ergo ?
    • View Profile
    • Pilgrim's Page
    • Donate to Member
Re: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2013, 07:48:38 AM »
Does anyone use 7stacks?

According to the website it will work with XP on.
Also according to the website in Vista and Windows 7 it uses Aero which I have disabled.
Given that XP does not have Aero I am assuming it is not an actual requirement.
Can anybody confirm that?
I spent 25 years training to be an eccentric then I woke up one morning and realised that I'd cracked it.
I've not had to try since.

I wonder what happens if I click on thi

pilgrim

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 316
  • Cogito ergo ?
    • View Profile
    • Pilgrim's Page
    • Donate to Member
Re: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2013, 10:50:45 AM »
I tried 7stacks without installing it but I took one look at the background/layout of the window that popped up from the taskbar and dumped it.

I've just been having a look at the issue of toolbars on the taskbar and learned some interesting things.
(I expect everybody else knew about them years ago.)  :huh:

It's possible to create a toolbar that only shows one icon regardless of how many items it actually contains, plus the arrows next to it.
It's also possible to to put a folder into a toolbar that will give you a tree view and therefore access to, any subfolders.

I'm not sure if there is a limit to this but it strikes me that you could, for one thing, move the 'Programs' folder to a toolbar and do away with the need for third party software to replace the default start menu.
I spent 25 years training to be an eccentric then I woke up one morning and realised that I'd cracked it.
I've not had to try since.

I wonder what happens if I click on thi

ajfudge

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« Reply #13 on: May 31, 2013, 01:00:15 AM »
pilgrim:
I honestly can't remember 7Stacks, though I tried it before and it's similar to Standalone Stacks. I preferred Standalone Stacks because it can be put inside Rocketdock.
For my own strict set of shortcuts, I use Hedgehog's Jumplist Launcher, which is sufficient since my main launcher is FARR.

It's possible to create a toolbar that only shows one icon regardless of how many items it actually contains, plus the arrows next to it.
It's also possible to to put a folder into a toolbar that will give you a tree view and therefore access to, any subfolders.
I'm not sure I got it right. What do you mean by a toolbar with just one icon?
But I'm aware that you can assign any folder as a toolbar in Windows 7's Superbar.

pilgrim

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 316
  • Cogito ergo ?
    • View Profile
    • Pilgrim's Page
    • Donate to Member
Re: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« Reply #14 on: May 31, 2013, 03:50:23 AM »
I'm not sure I got it right. What do you mean by a toolbar with just one icon?
But I'm aware that you can assign any folder as a toolbar in Windows 7's Superbar.

When you create a toolbar on either XP or 7, provided you have more than 3 items in it, by default the first 3 appear next to each other in the taskbar.
If you unlock the tasbar and push the toolbar to the left (assuming you have the taskbar at the bottom of the screen) you can close it down to show just 1 icon and the arrows for the menu.
This means you can put 2 toolbars in the same space it would normally take for 1.

I already have 2 toolbars on my PC's, Quick Launch and PPTP VPN's, now that I have VIndicator I shall add at least 1 more on 7 for L2TP VPN's.
On my Netbook (XP) I don't have any toolbars because they take up too much room so I modified the folders on the right-hand side of the Start Menu and put the most used shortcuts there.

I have Coolbarz hidden on the left of my screen containing shortcuts to various screen tools and Tray Commander Lite in the System Tray with shortcuts to backup, cleaning, encryption, and LV programs.

The only shortcut on any of my Desktop's is for the Recycle Bin.
I spent 25 years training to be an eccentric then I woke up one morning and realised that I'd cracked it.
I've not had to try since.

I wonder what happens if I click on thi

ajfudge

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« Reply #15 on: May 31, 2013, 10:33:54 AM »
Ah, yes I get it now.  I had to disable some toolbars because of space. The only shortcoming of the toolbar is how to manage its size.  Using small icons would mean just that... small icons with large spacing between each icon. and the only way to resize it is to drag it upwards, which means sacrificing work space.

pilgrim

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 316
  • Cogito ergo ?
    • View Profile
    • Pilgrim's Page
    • Donate to Member
Re: 64 bit Standalone Stack or alternative?
« Reply #16 on: May 31, 2013, 11:17:45 AM »
I took a couple of screenshots to show what I mean.

I spent 25 years training to be an eccentric then I woke up one morning and realised that I'd cracked it.
I've not had to try since.

I wonder what happens if I click on thi
« Last Edit: May 31, 2013, 11:26:46 AM by pilgrim »