Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 22, 2014, 06:51:28 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Simple single exe to show/hide to taskbar  (Read 20250 times)
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: November 23, 2008, 08:27:39 AM »

Hi there,

I would like to know wether this kinda app is around. It should hide when the single exe is executed, and restore the taskbar when executed again. I would not like to be it a tray thingy. Any help?
Logged
PhilB66
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,510


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2008, 10:24:37 AM »

Search for "pushtoshow" (a script by skrommel).
Logged
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2008, 10:35:06 AM »

Search for "pushtoshow" (a script by skrommel).
Now that is not what I'm looking for.
1. The thaskbar kets unlocked, don't like it.
2. Also the 'when mouse reaches bottom of the screen show op" function is not fine.
3. I would like to make a clickable shortcut, not a shortkey.
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2008, 09:50:38 AM »

smiley How about this?

RunAndHide - Run to hide or show the taskbar.

You'll find the downloads and more info at 1 Hour Software by Skrommel.

Skrommel
« Last Edit: January 10, 2009, 12:52:56 PM by skrommel » Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2009, 02:13:39 AM »

smiley How about this?

Skrommel

[copy or print]
;RunAndHide.ahk
; Run to hide or show the taskbar
;Skrommel @ 2008

IfWinExist,ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
{
  WinHide,ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
  WinHide,Start ahk_class Button
}
Else
{
  WinShow,ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
  WinShow,Start ahk_class Button
}
what to do with it?
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,329



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2009, 05:01:31 AM »

smiley How about this?

Skrommel

[copy or print]
;RunAndHide.ahk
; Run to hide or show the taskbar
;Skrommel @ 2008

IfWinExist,ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
{
  WinHide,ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
  WinHide,Start ahk_class Button
}
Else
{
  WinShow,ahk_class Shell_TrayWnd
  WinShow,Start ahk_class Button
}
what to do with it?

if you dont have AutoHotKey, get that and "install" (portable)
save Skrommels code - save as "RunAndHide.ahk" preferably in your AutoHotKey (scripts) folder
~\AutoHotkey\Extras\Scripts
open saved AHK file
Logged

Tom
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2009, 11:16:26 AM »

I've found something
http://rocketdock.com/addon/docklets/6728

Just this single exe hides it.
Logged
SleepingWolf
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 103


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2009, 02:30:17 PM »

Well I didn't need this, but I tried it; it works and it works well. A zero-byte download (for AHK users) that is transparently safe as opposed to the exe Coeluh plumped for. Leave the file on your desktop and you don't even need to make a shortcut! Go ahead Coeluh, try it. The AutoHotkey download is extremely reusable and flexible; I guarantee you'll need it for another purpose sooner or later.
Logged

-------------------------------------------

Choose life -or at least respect it.
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2009, 06:26:05 PM »

Well I didn't need this, but I tried it; it works and it works well. A zero-byte download (for AHK users) that is transparently safe as opposed to the exe Coeluh plumped for. Leave the file on your desktop and you don't even need to make a shortcut! Go ahead Coeluh, try it. The AutoHotkey download is extremely reusable and flexible; I guarantee you'll need it for another purpose sooner or later.
Well I like not to install AHK just for this, because this simple exe does the job. Thanks though.
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2009, 10:27:00 AM »

 smiley Posted a compiled version of RunAndHide above.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2009, 07:55:52 AM »

smiley Posted a compiled version of RunAndHide above.

Skrommel
WherE?
Logged
PhilB66
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,510


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2009, 08:28:28 AM »

smiley Posted a compiled version of RunAndHide above.

Skrommel
WherE?

Above
Logged
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: January 16, 2009, 07:53:50 AM »

Whats the difference with the one i provided?
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,329



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: January 16, 2009, 02:51:35 PM »

Whats the difference with the one i provided?

do you mean the difference between the exe you found and the one Skrommel coded?

I havent tried either but the obvious first difference is that you asked for help and someone custom-made a piece of software for you
Logged

Tom
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: January 24, 2009, 11:13:26 AM »

Whats the difference with the one i provided?

do you mean the difference between the exe you found and the one Skrommel coded?

I havent tried either but the obvious first difference is that you asked for help and someone custom-made a piece of software for you

Do not get me wrong. I really appreciate his work. I was just being curious that's all!
Logged
hamradio
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 569



Amateur Radio Guy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: May 21, 2009, 07:08:21 PM »

I also made something when the request first came out and just released it. It is not did with ahk but works like the ahk one for those curious minds.  smiley

Can be found on my mini site at http://carrolld.dcmembers.com/downloads.php
Logged

Carroll - HamRadioUSA
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,086



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: May 21, 2009, 08:23:30 PM »

thanks. it works fine, hamradio. thumbs up
Logged

Martina
Participant
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: June 09, 2009, 06:54:22 AM »

Please help me!
I'm using Skrommel's PushToShow application in the .exe form and I have a small request. Since I use it as a "special button" on a dock bar is there anybody who could make it work as a taskbar toggler? Like:
 -I click on the icon -> the program starts and hides the taskbar as usual
 -I re-click on the icon -> the program checks if it is already running and if so it shuts down and makes the taskbar visible again

Indeed, the "special button" I mentioned before is a link to a .vbs script that calls a .bat file.

To start dock+PTS I have a link on the QuickLaunch that runs

    CreateObject("Wscript.Shell").Run """C:\\Documents and Settings\\Marco\Documenti\\Programmi portatili\\RK Launcher\\docklets\\Varie\\Avvia dock.bat""",0

which calls

    start "" "C:\Documents and Settings\Marco\Documenti\Programmi portatili\RK Launcher\docklets\Varie\PushToShow.exe"
  start "" "C:\Documents and Settings\Marco\Documenti\Programmi portatili\RK Launcher\RKLauncher.exe"

And this works fine. To shut down, as I wrote above, I've placed a link on the dock that runs

    CreateObject("Wscript.Shell").Run """C:\\Documents and Settings\\Marco\Documenti\\Programmi portatili\\RK Launcher\\docklets\\Varie\\Termina dock.bat""",0

which calls

    tskill RKLauncher
    ***and here I do not know what to put!!!***

Please help me!

Thanks in advance and please answer me,
Martina
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,086



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: June 09, 2009, 08:04:25 PM »

Since I use it as a "special button" on a dock bar is there anybody who could make it work as a taskbar toggler?

you can try hamradio's TaskShowHide which does act as a toggle button.
Logged

Martina
Participant
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: June 10, 2009, 03:16:22 AM »

Yeah I know but pushtoshow works far better for me, it makes the whole screen available for maximized windows without having to set "autohide taskbar" first, and also doesn't conflict with winamp tray icon.
Hope skrommel is reading this topic smiley
Logged
hgondalf
Participant
*
Posts: 15

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: May 11, 2010, 09:41:10 PM »

using autohotkey.exe, I have assigned skrommel’s runandhide to a hotkey — the right Winkey, actually — which hides and locks the taskbar.  I use it all the time.

Very simple to put the existing run and hide code between a hotkey assignment and a return statement.
rwinkey::
 {run and hide code }
return
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.041s | Server load: 0.16 ]