Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 02, 2016, 06:21:09 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Retain keywords after losing focus  (Read 8794 times)

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Retain keywords after losing focus
« on: October 03, 2006, 10:25:40 PM »
mouser,
i have this problem that i hope i can make you understand. i call up farr and type something. then suddenly another window pops up stealing focus. to get back to farr, i would press the Pause key. so what happens now is instead continuing the earlier search, farr shows up with the default window. how do i avoid this?

btw, i tried alt+tabbing to get back to farr but it wasn't visible.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Retain keywords after losing focus
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2006, 10:29:31 PM »
ok i think i can fix that.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Retain keywords after losing focus
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2006, 10:37:06 PM »
thanks mouser. :Thmbsup:

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Retain keywords after losing focus
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2006, 03:43:56 AM »
+1 vote for this add, i also noticed the same problem...
 :Thmbsup:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Retain keywords after losing focus
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2006, 09:39:03 AM »
just to clarify - what you want is for the break key to not reset the search when used to bring focus back to the window when already on the screen.  in other words you want the break key to behave as if you had just click on the farr window titlebar in this case right?

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Retain keywords after losing focus
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2006, 10:20:30 AM »
Yep, correct. That's the problem :)

TucknDar

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,104
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Retain keywords after losing focus
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2006, 01:04:03 PM »
This was annying me too, until I discovered the "Always maintain focus" setting :Thmbsup:

I support the request, though, it might not always be preferable with the focus-setting.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Retain keywords after losing focus
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2006, 07:51:05 PM »
This was annying me too, until I discovered the "Always maintain focus" setting :Thmbsup:
i tried this option too but there's always a rogue window that forces itself into your face at the most inopportune times. >:(

Quote
in other words you want the break key to behave as if you had just click on the farr window titlebar in this case right?
yes, mouser. that's exactly what i want. :Thmbsup:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Retain keywords after losing focus
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2006, 11:07:33 PM »
fixed and will be in v1.12.01 when i upload.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Retain keywords after losing focus
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2007, 11:07:53 PM »
mouser, this feature seems to be broken in the newer releases.. :(

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Retain keywords after losing focus
« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2007, 09:27:28 PM »
paging for mouser: how do i enable this feature again? it seems to be broken in the newer releases..

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Retain keywords after losing focus
« Reply #11 on: December 17, 2007, 01:08:56 AM »
I've forgotten, but i have to add a new option regarding lost focus anyway so let me check and update and reply.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Retain keywords after losing focus
« Reply #12 on: December 17, 2007, 05:47:56 PM »
thanks mouser, this feature is very useful in situations where there is a long & complex searches.. :up: