Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 15, 2017, 04:25 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: CHS not copying text from column of cells  (Read 954 times)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,942
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
CHS not copying text from column of cells
« on: February 22, 2017, 07:24 AM »
Scenario:
  • select a column in a spreadsheet file by clicking on the header
  • Copy
  • The text *is* being copied to the clipboard, but it does not show anywhere in CHS

I thought this may be to do with volume of text I was copying (thousands of entries) in the spreadsheet,
but see I have the same problem copying a few entries (~20) from my IM (InfoQube)

I cant image it might be the case, but is there a setting somehow related to this?
Or is it a bug?

EDIT//
CHS version 2.3.9, installed version
Windows 7 x64
Tom
« Last Edit: February 22, 2017, 07:31 AM by tomos »

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,080
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: CHS not copying text from column of cells
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2017, 07:33 AM »
Just guessing: The list of columns is an object, not text or rtf?

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,942
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: CHS not copying text from column of cells
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2017, 08:17 AM »
Just guessing: The list of columns is an object, not text or rtf?

not sure what you mean by 'list of columns' Ath, do you mean the selected column I copied?

Also lost by the object reference: can a column be an object? (note I'm a fairly basic spreadsheet user)
FWIW, in my example,
the selected column in each case contained text, often with cell shading/highlighting though [edit] when I think about it, there may have been conditional formatting, must check [/edit]

In the IM, it was similar situation, but not a complete column, but about 20 cells within one column. All plain text, (but not sure how it gets copied to clipboard).
Tom

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 37,699
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: CHS not copying text from column of cells
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2017, 09:41 AM »
One thing you could test to see if the copy is resulting in TEXT on the clipboard is do the copy as you are doing it and then try to PASTE it into notepad or another text editor.  See what shows up when you try to paste into a text editor.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,942
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: CHS not copying text from column of cells
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2017, 10:20 AM »
One thing you could test to see if the copy is resulting in TEXT on the clipboard is do the copy as you are doing it and then try to PASTE it into notepad or another text editor.  See what shows up when you try to paste into a text editor.

here's one example:
this column just had text, well numbers, with no formatting -- but with a little over 3,000 entries

Code: Text [Select]
  1. 2016-11-00 snpsht
  2. 268
  3. 269
  4. 270
  5. 271
  6. 272
  7. 273
  8. 274
  9. 44
  10. 275
  11. 276
  12. 277
  13. 278
  14. 279
  15. 280
  16. 281
  17. 282
  18. 283
  19. 182
  20. 183
  21. 184
  22. 284
  23. 285
  24. 286
  25. 287
  26. 288
  27. 289

it copies and pastes fine, just doesnt show up in CHS --
but in fairness, do we want lists with 3,000+ entries clogging up CHS?

So that wasnt the problem for me:
I posted because of the problem with the list of 20 entries, which I thought was related -- let me look at that in a bit more detail next post.
Tom

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 37,699
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: CHS not copying text from column of cells
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2017, 10:24 AM »
CHS has settings where you can tell it to ignore clips that are larger than a certain size -- they are on the Capture Options tab.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,942
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: CHS not copying text from column of cells
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2017, 10:43 AM »
^ yes, capture was set to 9999 bytes

So,
it seems the two examples I gave are completely unrelated.

In InfoQube (IQ) sometime it works and sometimes not.
Here's an example that repeatedly wont work (i.e. goes to clipboard, but not to CHS)

Code: Text [Select]
  1. I’m torn between making these lists totally separate from the book -- or having them related to the book (i.e. with page numbers).
  2. Maybe initially I will make them completely separate (?)
  3. List Elevations
EDIT// the initial tab character gets stripped out there //EDIT

Here's how the text looks in IQ:

Screenshot - 2017-02-22 , 17_32_54.pngCHS not copying text from column of cells

here's how it looks in Evernote (old 2.2.1.xxx version) and
in text editor

Screenshot - 2017-02-22 , 17_38_42.pngCHS not copying text from column of cells

# what is interesting is that CHS doesnt recognise the text either when I try to copy it from Evernote !
# I thought it might be something to do with the first entry being indented more than the second -- so tried other examples like that directly from IQ, but they worked.
Tom