topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • July 19, 2018, 02:36 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 13 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Running two instances of FARR simultaneously?  (Read 1489 times)

dcsev

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Running two instances of FARR simultaneously?
« on: March 05, 2016, 11:18 PM »
Hi Mouser et al

First - LOVE this software. Thank you for spending the time to code/update/support it.

Question - is it possible to run two instances of FARR simultaneously from TWO seperate folders (with their own settings)? 

The reason I want to do the following: have 1 for my program files and another one (with URLs only) filled with URLS that take me to the direct download pages of the portable apps I use for easy updating.  I know this sounds silly, but I really, really don't want to taint my "programs" FARR with duplicate entries for URLs.  I considered using the scoring system to lower the listing but honestly, it's just so much darn easier having them seperated with different keys.


I did try to do this, but it wouldn't work.  Please help!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 38,717
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Running two instances of FARR simultaneously?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2016, 11:34 PM »
you cannot run two instances simultaneously.

HOWEVER, you can use keyword modifiers to have farr only search a specified folder (or set of folders) when you specify +keyword (anywhere in string).

So you could have one set of folders searched when you add +f1 to search and another to +f2
or make one searched by default, and one only when +keyword.

Also, you can configure a different hotkey to auto show farr with +keyword already specified.

dcsev

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Running two instances of FARR simultaneously?
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2016, 12:34 AM »
Hi mouser,
Thanks for the reply

Is there some documentation about keyword modifiers or an easy explanation on how to use it? Sorry to take up your time!