Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 25, 2016, 10:44:06 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: CHS suddenly stopped working  (Read 767 times)

Attronarch

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
CHS suddenly stopped working
« on: October 26, 2015, 03:33:59 AM »
CHS suddenly stopped working, with weird errors (can't access index table). This is how main windows looks like:

CHS 001.pngCHS suddenly stopped working

When I try to verify, optimize, etc, I get following:

CHS 002.pngCHS suddenly stopped working

When I try to restore from backup, I get following:

CHS 003.pngCHS suddenly stopped working

Tried re-installing, didn't help.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,248
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: CHS suddenly stopped working
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2015, 05:28:57 AM »
I just woke up so my brain is not functioning perfectly yet, but let's start with the basics:
  • Exit CHS.
  • Find your CHS database folder -- by default this will be under documents\DonationCoder\ClipboardHelpAndSpell\Database
  • Backup this folder (zip it and copy it somewhere, etc), so that we can try to recover it later.
  • Then delete the contents (or move contents) of the folder, so that it is empty.
  • Restart CHS.

See if that lets CHS resume working on an empty clip database.  Assuming so we can then try to figure out what went wrong and try to get your database back next.

Attronarch

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: CHS suddenly stopped working
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2015, 05:36:50 AM »
Got following:

CHS 004.pngCHS suddenly stopped working

BTW, I'm on Win10 (64 bit).

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,248
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: CHS suddenly stopped working
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2015, 06:01:53 AM »
What security software are you running? Can you try turning it off or adding an exception for CHS -- it's almost sounding like the problem is a security program blocking proper access to database files, something that we have seen before.
The other related thing to try, assuming you can get into CHS options is on the Tweaks tab, changing the "Temporary DB file location" and restarting.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,248
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: CHS suddenly stopped working
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2015, 06:03:08 AM »
Was CHS working for you before all this? Any idea what could have happened that made this start happening?
If you are seeing that error after you removed all database files, it's hard to see how it just started happening out of nowhere when it was previously working..

Attronarch

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: CHS suddenly stopped working
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2015, 07:33:54 AM »
Turning off Avira didn't help, but changing "Temporary DB file location" to Database "temp" sub-directory seems to have solved all problems.

 CHS was working fine, and I had it on Win 10 since it was released. My problems started when I moved to Japan, last week, but I think that is just a coincidence. Maybe some Win10 update broke it.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,248
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: CHS suddenly stopped working
« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2015, 07:43:07 AM »
Great  :Thmbsup:

Quote
changing "Temporary DB file location" to Database "temp" sub-directory seems to have solved all problems.
great to know.  that does suggest it's some sort of file access problem -- either related to a security program or a built-in windows 10 restriction.
I wonder if i should make that setting the default.

so now that it's working again, if you had old clips you want back you should be able to exit CHS, and restore your old Database directory and restart.