Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 26, 2016, 12:28:04 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: eBay AddOn via FF Update?  (Read 2122 times)

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,158
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
eBay AddOn via FF Update?
« on: November 11, 2014, 03:44:11 PM »
I've been avoiding FF auto updates so perhaps everyone else is already aware of it, but I was dismayed when I tried updating to 33.1 via the help menu and got an eBay Button on the Toolbar.  Yuck.  :)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,238
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: eBay AddOn via FF Update?
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2014, 03:53:38 AM »
I've been avoiding FF auto updates so perhaps everyone else is already aware of it, but I was dismayed when I tried updating to 33.1 via the help menu and got an eBay Button on the Toolbar.  Yuck.  :)

I notice I've a few new buttons placed on the toolbar - but for extensions that I already have - no ebay one added.
Tom

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,158
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: eBay AddOn via FF Update?
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2014, 05:24:52 AM »
I've been avoiding FF auto updates so perhaps everyone else is already aware of it, but I was dismayed when I tried updating to 33.1 via the help menu and got an eBay Button on the Toolbar.  Yuck.  :)

I notice I've a few new buttons placed on the toolbar - but for extensions that I already have - no ebay one added.

Did you update from 33.02?  It seems curious.

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 674
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: eBay AddOn via FF Update?
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2014, 09:54:55 AM »
Just reporting in that I upgraded from latest version before 33.1 to it and got no extra extensions/plugins.
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,158
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: eBay AddOn via FF Update?
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2014, 10:02:41 AM »
Thanks for the info.  I don't know why these update developers feel it's their God given right to just do whatever while they are at it.  I could just imagine the same thing for surgeons.  "Yeah, I was performing the hysterectomy and thought it would be a great idea to add an ice maker while I was in there."   :)

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 7,640
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: eBay AddOn via FF Update?
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2014, 05:27:56 PM »
No eBay for me.


Stoic Joker

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,261
    • View Profile
    • www.StoicJoker.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: eBay AddOn via FF Update?
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2014, 11:16:13 AM »
Just reporting in that I upgraded from latest version before 33.1 to it and got no extra extensions/plugins.

Same here. I'd just installed FF a few weeks ago for the first time because I needed it for something (I forget what). I believe the version then was 33.03. I opened it yesterday to what all the hubbub was about and it said it was going to update to 33.1 ... So I let it do its thing.

No sign of eBay anywhere.