Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 10:06:39 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Font in Options Dialog  (Read 3940 times)

JXS

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Font in Options Dialog
« on: September 07, 2014, 03:57:06 PM »
Hi,

I'm currently testing FARR to replace Launchy, and I noticed an issue with the font in the Options Dialog. As shown in the screenshots, the text seems to be cut off sometimes. Even resizing the Dialog window doesn't change this behavior; it seems that the text fields are not resized with the window.

I've read some threads here where quirks with the font were mentioned, but they mainly seemed to be caused by the Windows Zoom setting (mine is at 100%).

Does anybody know what could've caused this?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Font in Options Dialog
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2014, 10:52:50 AM »
How strange!
It certainly does seem like the problem where font size is not set to 100%.
Might you have some other setting on windows that is enlarging the display font or otherwise changing it?

What version of windows are you using?

JXS

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Font in Options Dialog
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2014, 02:45:38 PM »
Might you have some other setting on windows that is enlarging the display font or otherwise changing it?

No. Also, all other apps (and I have a lot  ;D) look OK.

What version of windows are you using?

Windows 7 Enterprise Service Pack 1

2 x 22" Displays with resolution of 1680*1050 each


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Font in Options Dialog
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2014, 02:49:55 PM »
What about this options page:
Screenshot - 9_9_2014 , 2_49_42 PM.png

JXS

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Font in Options Dialog
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2014, 02:58:00 PM »
As written in my first post, the zoom is set to 100%:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Font in Options Dialog
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2014, 03:14:31 PM »
How strange!
If you are willing, let me upload a test version for you that might shed some light on the issue.  Standby.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Font in Options Dialog
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2014, 03:20:09 PM »
As written in my first post, the zoom is set to 100%:

It's interesting that the "Default" label is after the 125% in your screenshot there.

Here (win7 pro, x64) it's after the 100%

Screenshot - 2014-09-09 , 22_18_14.pngFont in Options Dialog

possibly has no significance, but it did stand out to me.
Tom

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,778
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Font in Options Dialog
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2014, 03:25:35 PM »
It depends, based on resolution vs. screensize...

JXS

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Font in Options Dialog
« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2014, 03:27:42 PM »
If you are willing, let me upload a test version for you that might shed some light on the issue.  Standby.

Yes, of course. After all, I'd like to see what I can tweak in FARR :-)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Font in Options Dialog
« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2014, 03:31:45 PM »
tomos, that is an interesting find.. it may be related to what could be confusing farr.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Font in Options Dialog
« Reply #10 on: September 09, 2014, 04:15:03 PM »
JXS -- i've sent you a message so we can test offline.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Font in Options Dialog
« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2014, 03:13:53 AM »
It depends, based on resolution vs. screensize...

Yeah, I should have mentioned this:
on that machine I have exactly the same resolution/size monitor as JXS, but only one (JXS has two)

2 x 22" Displays with resolution of 1680*1050 each
Tom

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,778
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Font in Options Dialog
« Reply #12 on: September 10, 2014, 06:50:37 AM »
Maybe the display misbehavior is related to this checkbox: (mine is in default setting)

Screenshot - 10-09-2014 , 13_47_07.png

JXS

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Font in Options Dialog
« Reply #13 on: September 10, 2014, 09:18:52 AM »
Thank you all for helping to pinpoint down this issue.

Unfortunately, the Custom DPI Setting in the screenshot above looks like mine. The only difference is that my checkbox is also checked but greyed out so I cannot change it.

Currently, Mouser is providing me with debug versions of FARR which I'm testing. The biggest hint right now is that the Options Dialog from Screenshot Captor (which he also wrote) looks completely normal.

I'll keep you posted.

knutk

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Font in Options Dialog
« Reply #14 on: March 11, 2016, 03:04:53 AM »
I'll keep you posted.
Same issue here!  :(
Any solution yet?
Clipboard.jpgFont in Options Dialog
« Last Edit: March 11, 2016, 03:12:33 AM by knutk, Reason: screenshot »