Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 10:07:01 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: WebCam Detector  (Read 6817 times)

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
WebCam Detector
« on: November 08, 2013, 04:22:19 AM »
Is there a coding snack or script I can use to alert me if web cam unplugged?

CC              :D

c.gingerich

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 585
    • View Profile
    • VDSFreak
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2013, 08:10:44 AM »
I think I can whip something up for ya.
http://VDSFreak.com
Follow me on Tumblr.com to stay up to date on updates and new software!

c.gingerich

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 585
    • View Profile
    • VDSFreak
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2013, 08:28:46 AM »
Do you need it to run in the background or just run once and tell you if it is connected?  If run in the background, your webcam will be checked every 10 seconds and the light on the cam will turn  (if connected) on when it is being accessed. I will have a tray alert (balloon) letting you know if it was connected or disconnected.
http://VDSFreak.com
Follow me on Tumblr.com to stay up to date on updates and new software!

c.gingerich

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 585
    • View Profile
    • VDSFreak
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2013, 09:21:19 AM »
Introducing Cameo Snack

Sits in the system tray and checks to see if a webcam is attached every 10 seconds (if a webcam is attached the light may turn on when being accesses). Shows a tooltip balloon with the info. The icon also changes if it is detached (has a red x on icon).

Give it a try!

http://cgs.vdsworld.com/click.php?id=65

To use, just unRAR and run CameoSnack.exe
http://VDSFreak.com
Follow me on Tumblr.com to stay up to date on updates and new software!

c.gingerich

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 585
    • View Profile
    • VDSFreak
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2013, 11:25:04 AM »
@CleverCat Did you get a chance to test it out?
http://VDSFreak.com
Follow me on Tumblr.com to stay up to date on updates and new software!

c.gingerich

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 585
    • View Profile
    • VDSFreak
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2013, 10:28:36 PM »
Anyone test this out yet?
http://VDSFreak.com
Follow me on Tumblr.com to stay up to date on updates and new software!

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,472
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2013, 12:46:53 AM »
Well, I don't actually have a webcam but that's good right ? ... it should complain ...

What I got was this:

2013-11-16 17_44_17-CameoSnack.exe - System Error.png

So I guess it worked   ;) ;D

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2013, 02:03:41 AM »
A thousand apologies for not seeing your posts!  :-[ I get DC posts in my Newsfeed, but for some reason it only came through today?

Okay - I got same message as 4wd, but when Mum plugged the Cam in I got no message and I can't see the icon anywhere in System Tray? Tried adding program to Win Patrol for startup but only get the above box and the CameoSnack is not actually running?

xxx


c.gingerich

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 585
    • View Profile
    • VDSFreak
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2013, 02:32:31 AM »
Oops. Thats a big boo boo on my part. Ill get that fixed asap.  :(
http://VDSFreak.com
Follow me on Tumblr.com to stay up to date on updates and new software!

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2013, 02:45:28 AM »
 :-*

c.gingerich

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 585
    • View Profile
    • VDSFreak
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #10 on: November 16, 2013, 02:46:35 AM »
I have fixed the error. Please download and try again.  :-[

http://cgs.vdsworld.com/click.php?id=65
http://VDSFreak.com
Follow me on Tumblr.com to stay up to date on updates and new software!

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2013, 03:03:50 AM »
All good now!  :Thmbsup:

Thanks so much - I appreciate your work! I also use your Start Volume Snack to control the level of sound at startup from my Calendar Voice - works like charm!  :Thmbsup:

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,472
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2013, 03:42:21 AM »
As I said, I don't have a webcam so I don't know if this is relevant.

When I ran it, it did appear in the tray ... kind of ...

2013-11-16 20_37_51-.png

Should there be an icon associated with it?

The only indication I get that it's there is if I right-click on the blank spot, then I get the menu.

OK, a bit more testing ...

I tried Check Status and I've got some good news :D and some bad news  :rip:

First the good news: the icon appeared

And the bad news:

2013-11-16 20_59_08-.png

I don't have a webcam

Oh yeah, Win7HP x64, (more info: there are no Imaging Devices listed under Device Manager but I do have a analog TV card I use for tape transfer, ie. it's a video capture device).

Works OK on my WinXP Pro x86 and WHS2011 x64 machines, (except for the part of actually connecting a webcam).

Hmm, I wonder if it's time I reinstalled Windows?
« Last Edit: November 16, 2013, 06:28:36 AM by 4wd, Reason: Too many relevants ... if that\'s relevant. »

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #13 on: November 16, 2013, 04:12:24 AM »
Quote
I don't have a webcam

You do now!  :greenclp:

 ;D

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #14 on: November 16, 2013, 04:15:27 AM »
c.gingerich is more clever than we knew!  ;)

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,472
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #15 on: November 16, 2013, 04:17:05 AM »
Quote
I don't have a webcam

You do now!  :greenclp:

 ;D

Little do you know that Chris has secretly implemented a transfer protocol and the two programs, (on your machine and mine), are connected ... I'm actually looking through your camera ...

SMILE

 :lol:

c.gingerich

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 585
    • View Profile
    • VDSFreak
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #16 on: November 16, 2013, 09:24:45 AM »
Ha. @4wd That is odd... I'll look into why it is seeing a webcam that is not there.

@CleverCat - I'm glad it's working for you!
http://VDSFreak.com
Follow me on Tumblr.com to stay up to date on updates and new software!

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,472
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #17 on: November 16, 2013, 06:59:16 PM »
@Chris, don't worry about it.  I just tried it on another Win7HP x64 machine and it worked OK, so put it down to just mine requiring a reinstall  :(

But on the off chance, how are you detecting the presence of the webcam, (maybe I have something leftover on my system)?



A little later ... more testing, I just remembered my netbook, (win8 Pro x86), has a webcam  :-[

The netbook hasn't suffered the same OS abuse I've put my desktop through, so it's results should be better - the webcam is enabled and has drivers and is shown working in Device Manager ... however ...

When I ran Cameo I had a window open, (title: Video Source), asking which Capture Source I wanted, there's only the one so I selected it and hit OK.  The icon showed that no webcam was connected and when I used Check Status, it also said no webcam was connected.

Ten seconds later. the Video Source selection window opens again and prompts me to choose another video source - so I select the webcam again.  This time the icon/Check Status says a webcam is connected.

Ten seconds later, Video Source window opens, I select it again and this time it says it's not connected.

And it continues to say it isn't connected, however every ten seconds or any time I use Check Status it asks for the Video Source to use.

Devcon output:
Quote
Listing 1 device(s) for setup class "Image" (Imaging devices).
USB\VID_064E&PID_D101&MI_00\6&F281847&0&0000                : Acer Crystal Eye webcam
« Last Edit: November 16, 2013, 07:45:22 PM by 4wd »

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,158
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #18 on: November 17, 2013, 12:39:32 AM »
Quote
Little do you know that Chris has secretly implemented a transfer protocol and the two programs, (on your machine and mine), are connected ... I'm actually looking through your camera ...

SMILE

 lol

I waved!  ;D

StevenDoS

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #19 on: December 10, 2013, 03:57:16 AM »
Would this app detect any webcam software/hardware?  Or just certain ones? Also would it detect webcam on other people's computers?  Also would it be possible to get a copy of the source files, please?


Sincerely,



Steven D. Scalfani
SDS

c.gingerich

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 585
    • View Profile
    • VDSFreak
    • Donate to Member
Re: WebCam Detector
« Reply #20 on: December 10, 2013, 08:35:56 AM »
It should detect any type of webcam, but I do not have them all so I cannot test that. No it will not detect on other people's computers. I'm not ready to part with the source at this time.
http://VDSFreak.com
Follow me on Tumblr.com to stay up to date on updates and new software!