Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 01:18:49 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: how to enter text into a text box  (Read 1547 times)

beethoven

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
how to enter text into a text box
« on: November 01, 2013, 01:23:13 AM »
Mouser, I just installed the latest version of the program and watched your video.  I know it will take quite some time for me to get to use many of the features but I am baffled that I can't get the easy one to work for me. In your video you rush a bit through the text box feature and even watching it several times I can't quite see how I can enter text. I can create the box, move it, shrink it but where do I type the text?  I am sure it's so obvious that I will be very embarrassed but that's one function I do need. I am not referring to the "label" text but the yellow background text box.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: how to enter text into a text box
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2013, 11:41:30 AM »
@beethoven
IIUC, you click on the text icon (tooltip say "Text Object");
you click and drag to create a textbox - at this stage all you have to do is start typing - the text will automatically go in the box, i.e. it has focus. If the focus is elsewhere, a double-click in the textbox will give do the job.

I'm on windows 8 here (for a change). I notice, when I created the textbox, there was a blinking cursor in it - but it was so small it would be easy to miss. Funny I just drew another textbox and I see a full-size blinking cursor... Do you see a blinking cursor?

Hope that helps!
Tom

beethoven

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: how to enter text into a text box
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2013, 06:34:34 PM »
tomos,

thanks for that. I knew it had to be easy but somehow got confused between the highlighting rectangle and the text object. I don't see a cursor but no need if I know typing will just do what I need.   Works fine now - even for me  :D

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,429
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: how to enter text into a text box
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2013, 07:02:06 PM »
Thanks for answering this Tomos.   :up:

Quote
somehow got confused between the highlighting rectangle and the text object.


That's just what I was about to suggest might have happened.  It's a bit too easy to confuse the two.