Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 02, 2016, 04:19:10 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: FARR conflict with Dirt3(maybe its Game For Windows Live)  (Read 2429 times)

chinots

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
FARR conflict with Dirt3(maybe its Game For Windows Live)
« on: July 15, 2013, 09:44:26 PM »
Dirt3(windows car game) not work with FARR running.

Dirt3 needs "Game For Windows Live(overlay)" to work,
but when FARR run,
its shoutdown after Game For Windows Live work.
(run name Game For Windows Live Marketplace at systray.)

i can play Dirt3,close FARR.and its no problem,
but find it just post this.
(maybe its Game For Windows Live's problem )

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR conflict with Dirt3(maybe its Game For Windows Live)
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2013, 11:37:33 AM »
Thanks for the report chinots.. How very strange.  Anyone have any theories about why this might be the case?

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR conflict with Dirt3(maybe its Game For Windows Live)
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2013, 04:30:52 PM »
i recall a post some time back where a user reported that Dirt 2 crashes upon start if Farr is running in the background. i believe this might be an issue with the Dirt series not GfWL since i have games with GfWL such as GTA IV and Batman AA which runs fine even with Farr is running in the background.

http://www.donationc...ex.php?topic=23177.0 <--FARR prevents DiRT 2 from starting

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR conflict with Dirt3(maybe its Game For Windows Live)
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2013, 04:44:27 PM »
Maybe the programmer behind the Dirt series of games has a vendetta against FARR? Or Robots in general?

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR conflict with Dirt3(maybe its Game For Windows Live)
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2013, 07:34:15 PM »
Maybe the programmer behind the Dirt series of games has a vendetta against FARR? Or Robots in general?
sounds like you must have done something to piss them off. ;D

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,405
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR conflict with Dirt3(maybe its Game For Windows Live)
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2013, 09:49:48 PM »
I have Dirt 2 (must have been from a steam sale LOL), so I'll try it.

chinots

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR conflict with Dirt3(maybe its Game For Windows Live)
« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2013, 01:21:17 AM »
I buy Dirt2,by Steam Summer (gabe say "must buy") sale.
I have same issue at Dirt2.

Game crash allways at GFWL overlay window.lol.

GFWL surpport say "GFWL has many type overlay system .not just verify ID.Games maybe cant work without it. ".
(Because GFWL change system many many times lol.)

somehow,ill make batch file just close FARR before Dirt,and run FARR after it.