Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 20, 2014, 11:06:44 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the Practical Guide to DonationCoder.com Forum Search Features
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: DONE: Program Closer  (Read 34342 times)
hurricanedavid
Participant
*
Posts: 17

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: October 21, 2005, 04:30:30 PM »

Program Function:
How about an app that shows a list (with checkboxes) of all the different programs you currently have running.  You would check the ones you wanted to close, then when you hit the "Close" button, it would close them all for you.

Situation that Necessitated the Request:
To make my shutdown go smoother, I like to close Konfabulator, Trillian, and other stuff.  Right-clicking on the systray and waiting for it to update so I can choose the next program sucks valuable seconds from my life.  Wink  If it would be handy for me, maybe it would be handy for some others.

Other Options:
  • Maybe two checkboxes: one for nice shutdown, and the other for mean brute shutdown.
  • And then I suppose an option to shut down the computer after all that would be nice.
  • A nice keyboard shortcut would be if each program in the list had a number that one could type to toggle a switch. (brainstorming here)
  • If you wanted to get really spiffy, you could add a timer to close certain programs in a certain time in the future.

What do you think?
« Last Edit: March 31, 2006, 08:24:35 AM by brotherS » Logged
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,955



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2005, 04:44:16 AM »

That would be a really neat idea.

Actually something related I would like is a program starter which could start a group of programs in sequence. I would find this particularly helpful at startup as I have all sorts of stuff that starts up with Windows because I can't face starting it all up manually, but it does slow down system start and there is a distinct bottleneck of applications fighting to start at the same time.

What would be nice is the ability to set up program groups, but in sequences and allowing delays before attempting to start a particular app, or even with a default 'sequence delay' say 1 or 2 seconds before attampting to load the next in sequence.

The nice thing about program groups is that you could have effectively multiple startup configuartions which you can choose from a common interface.
Logged

m_s
Charter Member
***
Posts: 432


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2005, 05:26:43 AM »

I second all this - would love to solve system startup bottleneck.  There is a Konfabulator Widget - I think it's called Widget Watcher - that is meant to close down widgets (although I have never managed to get it to kill anything, but I can get each widget's pid and close it via Process Explorer).  I expect that some of my security programs would make this more difficult - they don't like one process trying to interfere with another...
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,370



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2005, 09:07:07 AM »

i could add this to process tamer maybe, let users make menus that start up, shutdown, or set specific priorities for named apps.
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2005, 08:30:41 PM »

 smiley I see the thread has changed focus, but here's a solution to the original request.

CloseMany - Close multiple programs or services at once.

Features:
- Close or Kill processes.
- Close services.

Changes:
- 2005.10.31 - v1.1: Added tooltip when clicking, moved buttons.
- 2005.12.02 - v1.2: Now possible to close services, changed process detection.

Uses PrcView v 3.7.4.1 command line utility by Igor Nys
Uses Clip.exe from Microsoft's Resource Kit



You'll find the downloads and more info at Skrommel Software.

Skrommel
« Last Edit: December 01, 2005, 07:14:43 PM by skrommel » Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,370



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2005, 08:41:02 PM »

don't forget to support your favorite skrommel with a donation!

(wait you mean there is only one skrommel??!?!?  how can that be??)
Logged
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,955



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2005, 04:33:51 AM »

Don't know why but it doesn't work for me ...

I can load TaskManager manually no problem.

When CloseMany tries to open the Task Manager for its own purposes the TaskManager complains and exits ...

If I hit refresh list, same thing


* error.gif (5.15 KB, 419x264 - viewed 1372 times.)
Logged

skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2005, 06:25:51 AM »

 ohmy Do you get the same error when using ProcessGuard?

I'm not too fond of the TaskMan solution, and I've made a version using a command line tool, but this involves including an external tool to make the script work. Any objections?

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,955



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2005, 06:38:55 AM »

Nope - process guard (version 1.1 is the one I had downloaded) seems to work fine.

I have no objections to external tools.

I have tried closing all open programs, stopped all unnecessary process and services and it still causes the problem.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2005, 06:48:47 AM by CarolHaynes » Logged

hurricanedavid
Participant
*
Posts: 17

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2005, 09:33:24 AM »

 Kiss cool.  Thanks skrommel!

My Explorer app (2xExplorer) and Konfabulator both have a few instances running quite often.  I can't tell which instance of each program is the one I might want to close.  IOW, I can't tell right now which Konfab entry is the "master" one that would close all the rest. 

Can you think of a way to add something to the program where you could tell the differences among the instances?

Maybe a text box at the top that changes to show more detail on the one you are hovering over?  I don't know what would be best.

Thanks for such a great program!
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: October 31, 2005, 05:37:09 PM »

 smiley Just updated CloseMany to v1.1.

Added tooltip when selecting processes, and moved the buttons.

Skrommel
« Last Edit: October 31, 2005, 05:40:59 PM by skrommel » Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
hurricanedavid
Participant
*
Posts: 17

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: October 31, 2005, 06:29:55 PM »

Hey, there you go.  That's a great help!  Thanks!
Logged
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,955



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: November 01, 2005, 12:23:50 PM »

Still doesn't work for me ...
Logged

skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: December 01, 2005, 07:15:18 PM »

 smiley Try CloseMany v1.2!

It uses two external tools to get the running processes, so please let me know if it works OK.

I've also added a dialog for closing services!

Skrommel

Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
clif_notes
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 198


Clif Notes Newsletter

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: December 01, 2005, 10:13:07 PM »

Hi Skrommel,

Great idea for a little program.

I downloaded it. Executed it.

It unpacked two files on the desktop. pv.exe & clip.exe

Noticed it running in the systray. Double clicked it.



So, I copied the two exe's into the Windows folder, thinking that might help.

Nope, no help.

What am I doing wrong? (Windows ME)
Logged


Devoted to promoting freeware and free information
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: December 02, 2005, 02:03:43 AM »

 tellme Windows ME.

No, seriously, I forgot to test for operativesystem. Can you run pv.exe in your dos prompt?

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,955



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: December 02, 2005, 06:03:03 AM »

Ooooo ... yummy, it works !!!

Thanks that's a great bit of software - I like it  Thmbsup Thmbsup Thmbsup

One last suggestion - it might be worth excluding closeMany itself from the list otherwise it could be a bit unpredictable if it is selected.
Logged

clif_notes
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 198


Clif Notes Newsletter

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: December 03, 2005, 11:58:45 AM »

tellme Windows ME.

No, seriously, I forgot to test for operativesystem. Can you run pv.exe in your dos prompt?

Skrommel

PV.exe works quite well. CLIP.exe does not.

Logged


Devoted to promoting freeware and free information
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: December 03, 2005, 06:34:03 PM »

 tellme Clip.exe isn't really neccesary. I'll look into making a W98 version.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
LuckMan212
Charter Member
***
Posts: 137


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: December 04, 2005, 01:00:21 PM »

i know this is an old request already, but has anyone tried SmartClose ?  its got a very nice GUI and may be helpful...................  Wink
Logged
m_s
Charter Member
***
Posts: 432


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: December 04, 2005, 02:32:10 PM »

I have used SmartClose, and I liked its appearance too, but I found it a little buggy - not everything it closed started smoothly afterwards, and I found a few things had disappeared from my autorun files.  I should say that this was quite a way back, and they might have fixed this kind of problem, but it certainly put me off.
Logged
clif_notes
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 198


Clif Notes Newsletter

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: December 04, 2005, 06:52:38 PM »

I tried it once. Here's my review.
Logged


Devoted to promoting freeware and free information
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: December 14, 2005, 05:42:45 PM »

 smiley Just CloseMany v2.0 for XP with more bells and whistles.

CloseMany - Close multiple programs or services at once.

Features:
- Close, Kill or Restart processes.
- Start, Stop or Restart services.
- Select multiple lines by Click-Drag or Ctrl-Click or Shift-Click



You'll find the downloads and more info at Skrommel Software.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,955



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: December 14, 2005, 06:12:09 PM »

Hey, I really like this now - but have you tried running it with Clipboard Help and Spell running - sounds like an artillery range letting off a few rounds ...
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,370



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #24 on: December 14, 2005, 06:35:15 PM »

carol, rofl.
sounds more like a bubble convention to me.

to prevent, go to Clipboard Help+Spell options, capture options tab, and add the following to exclude list:
clip.exe
pv.exe
CloseMany.exe
ShowVer.exe




* chsop.png (23.88 KB, 560x350 - viewed 1072 times.)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.046s | Server load: 0 ]