Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 25, 2016, 10:44:28 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Default save directory  (Read 883 times)

Dugan23

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Default save directory
« on: May 25, 2016, 05:37:14 PM »
Can't change the default save directory. I change the default save directory in the settings, and "Apply" the changes, but the changes aren't saved once I exit the app and reopen it. Opening the app creates a folder in my documents folder that I don't want there. Thank you for your help.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,247
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Default save directory
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2016, 06:51:54 PM »
Can you try changing the folder this way and see if it sticks:

Open the main Screenshot Captor window, and from the "GoTo" menu choose the first item "Go to.." and choose a folder that way.

Dugan23

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Default save directory
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2016, 07:10:51 PM »
Tried that. Didn't "stick".

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,247
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Default save directory
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2016, 07:14:26 PM »
Then let me ask, are *ANY* changes to settings being saved?

If so, then it maybe that when starting up Screenshot Captor is concluding that it is not able to save files where you are telling it to.  Have you tried to save a screenshot in that target directory after you change it?

Are you using the portable or installer version?

Is there anything unusual about the directory you are changing to?

Can you try changing to a directory that the program for sure should be able to save into -- perhaps a new subdirectory in your Documents area?

Dugan23

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Default save directory
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2016, 06:08:51 PM »
I think I discovered what the issue is. I'm trying to save the files to a different folder so that I can get rid of the "DonationCoder" folder nested in my documents folder. I don't keep that type of stuff in my documents folder. Just like I don't keep picture or movie files in my documents folder. The problem is that Screenshot Captor saves the settings somewhere in that folder. I don't want to keep application information (like application settings, for example) in my documents folder. How can I change this?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,247
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Default save directory
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2016, 08:06:25 PM »
Edit the ConfigDir.ini file in the C:\Program Files x86\Screenshot Captor directory
(remembering to remove the // characters at start of line to uncomment it).

This lets you override the default location where the program settings are saved.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,247
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Default save directory
« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2016, 08:07:05 PM »
Alternatively, you could download the PORTABLE version of the program, and run that from wherever you want. Settings will be saved in the directory itself.

Dugan23

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Default save directory
« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2016, 03:54:11 PM »
I had tried editing the ConfiigDir.ini file but apparently the location I specified was not allowed. Thank you for your help!  ;D
I do have one more quick question: What are the .objects files? Thank you!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,247
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Default save directory
« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2016, 03:59:06 PM »
.objects files are created when you add objects to an image (arrows, text boxes, etc.) -- they are what enables Screenshot Captor to let you move those objects around in an image at a later date.

Dugan23

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Default save directory
« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2016, 04:08:36 PM »
That's what I had assumed, but assuming things usually gets me in trouble  ;)  Thanks again!