Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 04, 2016, 06:37:47 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: How eliminate background when capturing active window?  (Read 774 times)

Bazsl

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
How eliminate background when capturing active window?
« on: January 12, 2016, 05:42:03 PM »
How can I configure SC so that it will not capture the area surrounding the active window. I just want to capture the active window and its frame but nothing outside the active window's frame. Thanks.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How eliminate background when capturing active window?
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2016, 05:46:11 PM »
that's what Active Window Capture mode is supposed to do, but there are situations and settings that effect it.
can you be more specific -- or better yet post a screenshot showing what result you are getting.

Bazsl

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How eliminate background when capturing active window?
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2016, 06:43:53 PM »
A sample screenshot is attached.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How eliminate background when capturing active window?
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2016, 07:34:06 PM »
right ok, so im assuming you are using the Active Window Capture mode, and its giving you those extra margins that include stuff you don't want.

what you are seeing there is the effect of a CHILD window on top of a parent, combined with SC trying to capture background transparency around the edges.

the quickest best solution is probably to tell SC to stop trying to grab the alpha transparency around window -- which will also result in a faster capture.

go to preferences, than window capturing 1 tab, then uncheck "try to capture aero glass transparency effects"

let me know if that helps.

Bazsl

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How eliminate background when capturing active window?
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2016, 07:43:12 PM »
That solved the problem. Thanks very much.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How eliminate background when capturing active window?
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2016, 07:55:11 PM »
i should probably try to make sc smartly warn about this when it detects no transparency, not just to help the user avoid this unwanted graphics, but because of the speedup in capturing.