Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 01:50:03 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Firefox: I got stuck on 'search as you type'. Any way to get back?  (Read 1269 times)

urlwolf

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,797
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Silly question.
In Firefox, I got stuck on 'search as you type'.
I don't want this behavior. I have one-key shortcuts that I want to recover.
The obvious solutions don't work: (http://stackoverflow...ping-on-pages-with-k)

If I go to  Tools->Options->Advanced->General Tab and the checkbox for "Search for text when I start typing" is not on. but if I press a key, it shows the tiny overlay and higlights the searches.

Any idea what could be wrong? Any workaround? Maybe this is an addon taking over?

Btw: cyberfox with the same tabs uses less CPU, but more memory :) So I may move there permanently.

eleman

  • Spam Killer
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox: I got stuck on 'search as you type'. Any way to get back?
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2015, 05:28:48 AM »
I guess an add-on may be the culprit.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,285
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox: I got stuck on 'search as you type'. Any way to get back?
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2015, 06:47:00 AM »
Btw: cyberfox with the same tabs uses less CPU, but more memory

If you find a speed dial that doesn't big startup please let me know.  I use CF x64 and Super Start.  But it takes 30 seconds to load and fill the speed dial on startup.  :(

TaoPhoenix

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 4,550
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox: I got stuck on 'search as you type'. Any way to get back?
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2015, 09:11:56 AM »
Btw: cyberfox with the same tabs uses less CPU, but more memory :) So I may move there permanently.

I kept forgetting to check out Cyberfox, so I'm trying to do that now!

Edit: It says it doesn't support my version of Windows. (XP). Oh well.



« Last Edit: August 05, 2015, 09:17:32 AM by TaoPhoenix »

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,285
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox: I got stuck on 'search as you type'. Any way to get back?
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2015, 09:59:21 AM »
Btw: cyberfox with the same tabs uses less CPU, but more memory :) So I may move there permanently.

I kept forgetting to check out Cyberfox, so I'm trying to do that now!

Edit: It says it doesn't support my version of Windows. (XP). Oh well.





Firefox x64 is coming out in the Stable Channel on version 40.0 release anyway.  The last few stable releases of FF have been good.  I find myself only using CF occasionally nowadays.

urlwolf

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,797
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox: I got stuck on 'search as you type'. Any way to get back?
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2015, 10:07:07 AM »
Still no idea about what could be wrong :)

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,285
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox: I got stuck on 'search as you type'. Any way to get back?
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2015, 10:32:15 AM »
Still no idea about what could be wrong :)

Quick way to eliminate AddOns is hold down the Shift key when starting FF.  It should come up with no extensions running.  If it works normally then one of the AddOns is the culprit.