Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 26, 2016, 07:14:56 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Prevent some browsers executions  (Read 3123 times)

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,564
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Prevent some browsers executions
« on: October 13, 2014, 08:37:50 AM »
I have found the way to protect with password any script.
But I would like to have control over the main browsers executables.
firefox.exe
chrome.exe

etc.

1. How can assign to execute any url with the password protected script ?
2. How can i hide the main browsers executable to prevent accidental execution ?

Best Regards
 :-*

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,158
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Prevent some browsers executions
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2014, 11:40:20 AM »
What does "accidental execution" mean exactly?

I don't understand what you are trying t accomplish.

Shades

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,079
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Prevent some browsers executions
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2014, 08:03:30 PM »
There is always 'secpol.msc' where you can create software policy rules that can prevent the execution of any *.exe.

If the above terms don't mean anything to you or are not sure about, then you shouldn't attempt the above. At least not without getting to know what policies are and how they can affect the functionality of your Windows installation. It's easy to make a mess there.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,158
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Prevent some browsers executions
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2014, 06:10:16 AM »
I haven't messed around much with policies. But I do have a link with some Registry Tweaks for those who have a Windows version lacking a group polocy editor.


http://gpsearch.azurewebsites.net/#4621

Don't ask me how to use it.  I saw it mentioned and it looked like a good link to save.  :)

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,158
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Prevent some browsers executions
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2014, 06:12:35 AM »
Of course if you don't want anyone launching links you could take the quick and dirty approach of setting a default browser, say firefox.exe, then renaming the file to FFox.exe.

But then it's likely the Open With dialog would pop up anyway.

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,564
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Prevent some browsers executions
« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2014, 04:49:06 PM »
There is always 'secpol.msc' where you can create software policy rules that can prevent the execution of any *.exe.

If the above terms don't mean anything to you or are not sure about, then you shouldn't attempt the above. At least not without getting to know what policies are and how they can affect the functionality of your Windows installation. It's easy to make a mess there.

saved. I have to try with care

what I want simply is invite a user to browse from a virtual machine instead from the system.


Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,564
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Prevent some browsers executions
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2014, 04:49:58 PM »
I haven't messed around much with policies. But I do have a link with some Registry Tweaks for those who have a Windows version lacking a group polocy editor.


http://gpsearch.azurewebsites.net/#4621

Don't ask me how to use it.  I saw it mentioned and it looked like a good link to save.  :)


Saved. We will comment

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,564
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Prevent some browsers executions
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2014, 04:51:10 PM »
What does "accidental execution" mean exactly?

I don't understand what you are trying t accomplish.

I would like the user, or myself, use a virtual machine to navigate. But he need the system to browse when using his digital certificate from a card writer. The rest from the virtual machine. That's the idea.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,158
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Prevent some browsers executions
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2014, 05:24:58 PM »
What does "accidental execution" mean exactly?

I don't understand what you are trying t accomplish.

I would like the user, or myself, use a virtual machine to navigate. But he need the system to browse when using his digital certificate from a card writer. The rest from the virtual machine. That's the idea.


I see.  Thanks for the clarification.  :)

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,564
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Prevent some browsers executions
« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2014, 07:34:07 AM »
Can i hide the executables ?

Trying

If a shorcut to an url is created I have to modify to ask for the password or simply execute.

How can I limit the new tabs operation ?

Best Regards

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,564
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Prevent some browsers executions
« Reply #10 on: October 15, 2014, 07:46:20 AM »
I need a code snack able to do this :

Configure Don't show files, folder or hidden units.
Hide browser executables when usually installed in system under w7-64
Rename this executables to another name : example Luis.001.exe and so on.
 :-[

Then I can put the script that need password to execute the rename file.

Other possible addon is modify the existing url or lnk to urls to be launched with the script.

Is this possible ?