topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Monday April 15, 2024, 11:06 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: double keypress for hotkey  (Read 4417 times)

matesko

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
double keypress for hotkey
« on: March 04, 2014, 12:47 PM »
It would be nice to have an option for double (or even triple) keypress for hotkey to start farr. For example double "click" on shift or Ctrl or Alt or something similar.

Nod5

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,169
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: double keypress for hotkey
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2014, 05:15 PM »
Do you really want to spend as much as three keyboard presses each time you load FARR? I'd say it is useful enough to deserve a one press hotkey!  ;D But if you still want it a short Autohotkey script can be used to launch FARR with such custom hotkeys.

Doubletap:
F4::
if (A_TimeSincePriorHotkey < 500) and (A_PriorHotkey == A_ThisHotkey)
 send {pause}   ;the command that launches FARR
return
Tripletap:
F5::
if (A_TimeSincePriorHotkey < 500) and (A_PriorHotkey == A_ThisHotkey)
if triple = 1
send {pause} ;the command that launches FARR
else
 triple = 1
else
 triple = 0
return

If you want to use the Control key alone as a tripletap hotkey we better prevent holding down of the button for a longer time from triggering a lot of open and close actions in FARR. This seems to work.
Control::
if (A_TimeSincePriorHotkey > 10) and (A_TimeSincePriorHotkey < 500) and (A_PriorHotkey == A_ThisHotkey)
if triple = 1
send {pause} ;the command that launches FARR
else
 triple = 1
else
 triple = 0
return

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 2,922
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: double keypress for hotkey
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2014, 05:48 PM »
IIRC, when bugging mouser about this type of functionality, I think he suggested checking out TapTap Hotkey Extender -- at the time of trial it worked (but it didn't survive across multiple machine transitions, so I haven't had much experience with it recently).

matesko

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: double keypress for hotkey
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2014, 01:31 AM »
This was fast. Thanks! That is all I need   :Thmbsup: