Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 05, 2016, 12:45:20 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Automatic resize before save  (Read 2757 times)

jcurtis

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Automatic resize before save
« on: November 28, 2012, 12:12:10 AM »
Hello!

I am wondering if there is a way to automatically resize a region screen capture such as with a post capture command line?
I am using the automatic save for the region capture and it would be excellent if the images were resized prior to the automatic save...is it possible?

Thanks!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Automatic resize before save
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2012, 01:41:31 PM »
Quote
such as with a post capture command line?
yep, you have the right idea.  you just need to find a command-line resizer (or general purpose tool) that will do what you want.

ImageMagick is free and can certainly do the job.

You would then configure it here:
Screenshot - 11_28_2012 , 1_40_35 PM - cap 00086.png

Do share your solution with us when you get it working  :up:

jcurtis

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Automatic resize before save
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2012, 09:28:15 PM »
Awesome thankyou! I have installed Image Magick and have the resize command working straight from the command line but I'm having trouble getting it to work in Screenshot Captor. I've tried a few variations but can't get it to work - I've attached an example. This line is working from cmd, obviously with %file% swapped out for the file name. Any ideas what i'm doing wrong?

Thanks again!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Automatic resize before save
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2012, 09:34:06 PM »
you have the right idea
try putting the %file% parts in double quotes, and a full path to the icovert exe.

like c:\imagemagick\icovert.exe "%file%" -resize 120 "%file%"

jcurtis

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Automatic resize before save
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2012, 09:49:49 PM »
 ;D Excellent its working now! Thank you!!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Automatic resize before save
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2012, 11:02:05 PM »
great :)  :up:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Automatic resize before save
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2012, 11:05:02 PM »
ps. for those who don't resize quite so often, SC has a "Create Thumbnail" action inside the File menu, which can be quickly triggered from the toolbar to use previous settings, which can be used to perform fairly quick resizing-like actions (it doesn't actually resize the current image, it saves a copy of the current image at the designated size).