Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 19, 2014, 08:51:40 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2010! Download 24 custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Choice.com and Choice.exe for Windows XP  (Read 11469 times)
Giampy
Participant
*
Posts: 315


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: June 17, 2012, 12:30:30 PM »

Hi all!
I use Windows XP and I am writing a batch file (.bat). I would like to put a Choice command, the dear old Choice command of MS-Dos 6.22 and 7. In Internet I have found some Choice commands, .com and .exe, old and new, and people declare all those programs are good for Windows XP.
Those programs don't work instead (but one).
The first time I run them (of course into the Dos window, the one opened by Cmd.exe) I get the message "Access denied", while the second time the window gets frozen and I must close it.
I am curious to understand the strange behaviour of those progams.
Logged

"A refrigerator without beer is like a body without soul"
rjbull
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,758

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2012, 03:39:20 PM »

I just opened up a CMD.EXE console under Vista Home Premium, typed CHOICE, and got Microsoft's own CHOICE program, dated 2006.  It's in
c:\Windows\System32\  Haven't tried it in a batch file, though.  Is Microsoft CHOICE really missing from your computer, or do you have a preference for third-party tools?

Are you sure the problem lies with CHOICE?  Do you have any account restrictions on your computer that might cause problems with a console?

Other CHOICE programs you might try: Horst Schaeffer's 16-bit DOS program CHOIX.COM in his PBATS collection: http://www.horstmuc.de/main.htm , bottom of page.  If you'd like fairly similar WinGUI versions, look at Horst's Windows 32 bit Console Mode programs at http://www.horstmuc.de/wcon.htm
Logged
iXXi
Participant
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2012, 07:50:50 AM »

CHOICE.exe was removed from Windows 2000 & XP for some bizarre reason but was reintroduced in Vista & 7. But the good news is you can still grab a copy here is a site with instructions and downloads from Microsoft.  smiley

http://hp.vector.co.jp/au...19/dkclonesup/choice.html
Logged
Giampy
Participant
*
Posts: 315


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2012, 09:50:38 AM »

CHOICE.exe was removed from Windows 2000 & XP for some bizarre reason

I have read that Choice was removed from Xp because it causes instability and errors.
Someone has even dedicated a page to this damned program and he has even written a software to fix its errors: http://www.pcerrorfixtip.com/choice.exe-3604.html
Other people say that Choice is a malware/spyware.

Quote
But the good news is you can still grab a copy here is a site with instructions and downloads from Microsoft.  smiley
http://hp.vector.co.jp/au...19/dkclonesup/choice.html

In fact that is just the only Choice that works.
Logged

"A refrigerator without beer is like a body without soul"
Renegade
Charter Member
***
Posts: 11,373



Tell me something you don't know...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2012, 04:22:54 PM »

Looks like you can use "set /p" on XP:

Choice_(command)w
« Last Edit: July 14, 2012, 05:07:46 AM by jgpaiva; Reason: fixing broken link » Logged

Slow Down Music - Where I commit thought crimes...

Freedom is the right to be wrong, not the right to do wrong. - John Diefenbaker
Giampy
Participant
*
Posts: 315


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2012, 08:07:28 AM »

Looks like you can use "set /p" on XP:
Choice_(command)w

Yes, I knew Set /p, but it requires to press Enter after the choice. Only an idiot can design a program that requires Enter when the choice consists of one character only. I refuse to use it. It’s a matter of principle.

I am using Choice.exe from http://hp.vector.co.jp/au...dkclonesup/dkclonesup.zip and it is fine.
Logged

"A refrigerator without beer is like a body without soul"
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.035s | Server load: 0.12 ]