Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 23, 2014, 11:42:49 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2012! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: DONE: launch notepad and make it "always on top" in one click  (Read 5021 times)
honwahp
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: March 31, 2012, 08:21:35 PM »

Is there a way to open notepad and make the notepad window "always on top" in one click?
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,047



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2012, 08:35:45 PM »

if you're familiar with Autohotkey, then the following would be able to do what you want.

Formatted for Autohotkey with the GeSHI Syntax Highlighter [copy or print]
  1. Run, notepad.exe
  2. WinWaitActive, Untitled - Notepad
  3.  If (ErrorLevel <> 0)
  4.     WinSet, AlwaysOnTop, On ; set to always-on-top.
Logged

honwahp
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2012, 08:44:44 PM »

Thanks for the quick response and I do have autohotkey installed.  However, when I ran the script, the notepad window appeared but it didn't stay on top Sad  Of course I may have done something wrong.. (By the way, I am running Chinese Windows XP)
« Last Edit: March 31, 2012, 08:53:06 PM by honwahp » Logged
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,465



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2012, 09:27:04 PM »

It's not "one click" but you can toggle the Topmost attribute of most application windows using Topmost Toggle. Run it. It sits in the task tray. Control Right Click on the Notepad caption bar when it has the focus. (If it's not the active window just left click on it to make it active first.)

You can download here:
http://www.favessoft.com/hotkeys.html

Logged

"I don’t want to belong to any club that would have me as a member."
 - Groucho Marx

lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,047



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2012, 10:40:22 PM »

Thanks for the quick response and I do have autohotkey installed.  However, when I ran the script, the notepad window appeared but it didn't stay on top Sad  Of course I may have done something wrong.. (By the way, I am running Chinese Windows XP)

i'm not sure what is the title of notepad in chinese winxp but try this.

Formatted for Autohotkey with the GeSHI Syntax Highlighter [copy or print]
  1. Run, notepad.exe
  2. WinWaitActive, ahk_class Notepad
  3.  If (ErrorLevel != ERROR)
  4.     WinSet, AlwaysOnTop, On ; set to always-on-top.

Logged

honwahp
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2012, 11:51:42 PM »

lanux128 : Excellent!  It works now.   Many thanks to you.

MilesAhead: Thank you also for your reply.  Your method also works.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.057s | Server load: 0.04 ]