topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Friday March 29, 2024, 4:52 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Best programming books ?  (Read 7827 times)

kartal

• Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Best programming books ?
« on: April 24, 2009, 12:44 AM »
Hey Guys-Gals-Furries

I am trying to compile a list of good programming books(that I can also check out from local library :) I am looking for not too advanced stuff somewhere between beginner-intermediate level. I saw some forum entries but not very spesific to snappy programming books. Bear in mind though I am not a programmer, just a hobbiest, but I have done some programming when I was very young like around 14 with Turbo Pascal (on 8086-80286), but that was a long time ago. Anyways I am trying to get back to programming. I am kind of sick of hacking stuff :) 

Here are couple I am enjoying at the moment 

-"Core Python Programming" by Wesley J. Chun. I love the way he writes and explains. He goes high and low without loosing any rythm.
-"Algorithms" by Teach Yourself. It is a nice and cute book. It explains various algorithms with pseudo codes. I kind of like it.

bgd77

• Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Best programming books ?
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2009, 01:15 AM »
At the beginning I recommend this one: C Programming Language by Brian W. Kernighan and Dennis M. Ritchie
http://www.amazon.co...p/product/0131103628

And then, for C++, see this topic (the books recommended by mouser):
https://www.donation...dex.php?topic=3269.0

Jibz

• Developer
  • Joined in 2005
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2009, 01:39 AM »